You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Story Writing Tips - Characterisation

in #steemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

"If you are writing about ethnicity, pick a name from the ethnic group."

This is where a lot of Nigerian writers on Steem lose my attention, I'm sorry to say. If I were to stress that any further, I'll add the appropriate use of images to push the story. I see many African-set stories using photos with places and people inconsistent with the story. No photo beats inappropriate photo every time.

I totally agree with you that character development is integral I'm crafting a good fiction story. While I wouldn't use "clone", I echo that taking after real life characters is a useful tip to have in the trick bag. You don't want Aunty Aisha who picks her nose to identify herself in your "fiction" story. Lol.

Sort:  

I agree with that. African writers make that mistake a whole lot.

Maybe 'clone' came off too strong. Aunty Aisha may pick up a book and identify herself but it wouldn't be her name on it hahaa
I get your point though. What I was trying to say is to find familiar characters and work with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67