Is Being Resilient Too Hard?


1.jpg
Source

Remember when you were young; that if you started something you stuck with it? You stuck with it and you persevered until you'd completed whatever was it was that you had started in the first place. As an example, when I was 8(ish), I wanted to play a sport. Back then, pretty much the only option was footy (Aussie Rules - look it up if you don’t know what it is - a pretty good game!), or cricket, and since the latter was akin to watching grass grow, footy was the choice.

After a couple of weeks playing, I wanted to quit, but my mum wouldn't let me. She made me keep going to training and then took me on Saturdays ot watch me play in the weekly match, then continued to take me to training the following week, and so repeated the process until I learned that it wasn't so bad after all and I did actually enjoy playing the sport. I continued to play for another couple of years - until I was old enough play in the under 12’s and the old hip ’n’ shoulder was replaced with the more undesirable tackle. At which point I promptly changed sports to basketball.

My preamble here comes on the back of a post I wrote last week that probed the use of technology in society today, and whether it is, in fact, good or bad that it is such a prevalent entity, especially among adolescents.

This post has received a good bit of discussion around it, and a few of the comments drifted towards the idea that we (Gen Xers in particular) were much more patient 'back in the day'. It were these comments that got my mind drfiting towards the idea that students today lack another very basic trait that we displayed also - that of resilience.


Has Resilience Disappeared?



2.jpg
Source

I'm sure I'm not the only one who has noticed recently that students today really seem to struggle with resilience. It seems that they start one thing and then within a couple of weeks will either spontaneously stop attending, or slowly move onto the next trend without as much as a yelp or curteousy shrug in your direction.

I commenced a lunchtime coding challenge last term, and begin with a modest 11 students. By the end of the term, only 9 weeks later, I had only 5 regular attendees. Now, I'm aware that students will try something and just not like it, or decide it's not for them and move on. This is just par for the course, but I did happen to ask one of the students who dropped out after two lunchtimes why they left, and their response was something along the lines of, 'Oh, I just couldn't be bothered.'

Now that irks me! It's not like they were bad at coding, in fact they they seemed to be picking the skills up nicely. They just couldn't be bothered. Couldn't be bothered! Just like that!

So, is it just me or have teenagers today lost their spine? And if they have, where did they get to!? Is this something that has been growing for a few years, or decades, or is it a phenomenon that has recently cropped up and we were just blissfully unaware of it until now?

I'm inclinded to suggest that this is not a recent occurance, and as with many of the flaws in society, it has been brewing for a while now, but it is only just really catching up with us.

I had a conversation with a collegue about 5 years ago now. He was frustrated because he was the guy who administered the Pedal Prix (I've linked to their web page for those of you who are unfamiliar with - yet interested to know about - this race) for our school, and he was having a tough time getting enthusiastic students to participate in the competition. Those he could get only wanted to turn up on race-day. They had little to no interest in training and working up the stamina they required to compete in a 24 hour-long cycle race.

We concluded that the problem was stemming from a lack of resilience. From the students being unable to find the basic ability to cope under pressure situations for sustained periods of time, or to bounce back after a setback during training. They preferred to remove themselves from the program for a couple of weeks, or in quite a few cases entirely.


Building Resilience



3.png
Source

There are no hard and fast rules here, and there are many places that will happily give guideance on how to build resilience, but from personal experience, I sometimes think that a mixture of tough love, honesty and continual positive encouragement work a treat. I cannot tell you which measure of each to use, and when to use them - this comes from understanding your student's needs, and being able to read each situation as they arise. Every student and situation being different means reuqires you to alter your aporoach as needed, and you might even find that in some circumstances, none of my preferred strategies work, and you will need to blindly think on your toes. Sorry! Not much help, hey!!

It seems the person lacking resilience is often first lacking self-esteem, they may or may not have learned how to deal with conflict, and their coping skills are probably quite underdeveloped too. As such, they struggle to get over major (and sometimes minor) setbacks in their life, such as poor test results, sporting troubles, and friendship woes. This will often manifest itself in a 'quitting temperament', whereby it is easier to give up quickly when the going gets tough, or to simply not try at all, and I'm sure we have all seen students such as this in our classrooms. The one who puts their head in their arms five minutes into a test, or the student who sits sullenly (usually at the back of your classroom), with their arms crossed refusing to even begin a task, no matter how simple it may be. These are the perfect opportunities to begin resilience building. To speak positively into a life that may have only ever had negativity thrust at it - to begin to exact change.

Positive Encouragement (Praise)

I often find that being positive and giving lots (lots) of praise initially works the best. For the student lacking self-esteem, this is just what they need. At the outset, praise even the smallest things, just strat building their confidence, and let them know that they are doing things right. I praise some of my students for just remembering to write their name at the top of their test, or putting the date at the top of the page without being reminded. In some cases, just find anything and praise them for it.

Honesty

I'm always honest with my students. If I don't know something, I won't try and bluff my way through. They'll call me on it every time, and I end up looking like an idiot. I will tell them I don't know and that I'll find out as soon as possible. But make sure you are prepared to actually follow through, and quite quickly at that.

I find that honesty is one of the best avenues for building relationships and for fostering trust. When students believe that you are an honest person, then you also are seen, in their eyes, as a trustworthy person too, which is why it is important that you follow through on finding information if you say you will.

While this isn't necessarily exactly a direct help in resilience building, it does aid with the next point.

Tough Love

To be used sparingly unless you know the student on the receiving end will be able to handle it. Which is why it is important to build relatonships based on trust first. I know my students well, and will use this tactic quite often. I find it is one of the best ways to build resilience, however, it is always slathered in the first two points, especially praise. Praising a student just before or after using some tough love will soften the blow slightly, but done well, not enough to diminish the underlying tone that you are trying to get across. I find that something along the lines of: 'you've done really well so far, but your whining is a waste of both our time, so get cracking or you'll be staying in at lunch to get this finished', works really well.


To Conclude


As per many of my posts, I'm not professing to have answers, I'm just trying to ask some tough questions, and maybe, along the way, offer some insights into methods I've found useful over the course of my career.

Resilience is lacking in society. It certainly is lacking in our youth, and it is something that we all need to be encouraging them to find again. Is it any wonder that univerity dropout rates for first year students is sky-rocketing? We need to find a way to stem the flow. I know of many teachers who are changing their vocabulary in an effort to help shift the mindset of their students.

Terms like: 'I don't know... yet.' Instead of simply: 'I don't know.' Are being used to assist students to think in a growth manner, rather than a defeated one.

There's a big culture, on social media and television, feeding this problem. Teaching counter to the things I've written about here - saying that it's okay to sit and sulk if you don't get what you were expecting. This needs to be combatted. We need to let our students know that they do have the ability to make it through the tough things life may throw at them. We need to teach them that they are strong.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate you taking the time to make your way to here. I hope that you have gained some insight into a topic you may or may not have considered before.

Please leave any thoughts or comments below. As always, I'd love to hear from you.



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


112096.png

Sort:  

Another insightful post. I have no answers.

The tech age as you say...its about constant stimulation...bored? Just try something else...don't get the quick result you want? Try something else...if it isn't "fun" why bother....how many kids spend time gaming and decide they want to become gaming programmers instead of more "useful" society needed careers....

Meanwhile....we have become a throw away society...we want instant results and satisfactions....working towards a goal is a foreign concept...I wouldn't be surprised if a lot stems back to failing family structures...marriages are easily dissolved...easier to leave than work on things...children see that...they don't get a chance to make mistakes and keep trying...

So many aspects to this...lets face it...we all want to find the "quick" idea that makes us rich and famous with as little work as possible...the media portrays this as a reality and not a lottery long shot....but most of us realize while its fun to dream...its a marathon and not a sprint....

Yeah, you hit the nail on the head in so many ways here @bobreedo. There are now lots of instances where we can just flip our way through life, and you're right, a lot of it is driven by the media. Many of life's pleasures are now instant, and we don't really need to experience any of the disappointment that kids did 20 or 30 years ago.

I've loved Netflix since first hearing about it on a trip to the US five years ago, but I'm now seeing my kids grow up not understanding that when they watch free to air television, they have adverts to wait for, and waiting for another episode to begin in 24 hours is a foreign concept to them. My son is learning that the end of one show on TV is not the end of the world!

So true...lol...kids grow up thinking life is continuous and uninterrupted with no breaks!

I think in a lot of ways we and the environment create these 'monsters'. We live in a very wealthy time where most people generally have enough. Add to that the ease at which things are obtained, at a click of a button you have other people giving you answers and a pat on the head etc.
So kids don't generally have to work at getting things. We also have quite hectic lives, so they are not priority. Time is usually spent in work and hobbies. So things, www,social media are all the things that kids gravitate towards and due to the lack of time spent with them they then haven't learned the skills to control those things and recognise the issues associated.
All of these add to kids that don't need to get a backbone, or push through. With a million resources fighting for their attention its easy to flip and flop from one thing to the next.
It's not as though if they don't get the wood they will be cold that night......thise things just don't happen anymore.
Kids are soft these days, and it's not getting better either.

Thanks for post.

It's not as though if they don't get the wood they will be cold that night......thise things just don't happen anymore.

So true. I used to mow the lawn when I was about 9, but could/would a 9 year old today be given the same level of responsibility? I would guess: No!

Do you think it's become a bit of a spiral? We don't think they are capable of performing such a dangerous task, so don't give it to them, then they lose some of the self-confidence they may have had, so we trust them even less, and so on?

I do think so actually. We want a better life for our kids, and in so doing we actually hamstring them somewhat. I don't think it's purposeful. I think of the story if the bird needing to break through the eggshell, if we open it for them they become weak and usually don't make it. We do the same with our kids. Let them be bored, let them struggle and fall.....its so tough

I would have to agree!

I use the examples of computer games as it is my hobby... in my childhood days, they were visciously hard and you couldn't just expect to win or succeed without struggle and intense planning. It made the achievement of getting past a problem or surmounting a difficulty much more meaningful.

These days, kids are trained on games where you practically are hand held from beginning to finish. You can play through a superhero fantasy, where you have to do practically nothing of skill. Granted there are games that buck the trend, but they are not really mainstream and people shy away because they are too "hard".

This is true - imagine the complexity that could go into a video game now... if the developers wanted to put it there. When I was young, gaming controls were (at most) a joystick and three buttons - often, just a joystick and a single button. Today, there are upwards of six buttons, triggers, and multiple navigation methods. Not to mention a full blown QWERTY keyboard.

In a similar concept, sport is the same. There is no way that a team would have won a trophy for simply participating - you had to make it to the podium if you wanted recognition. My today, you can stand on a soccer field, spin around and catch butterflies, and get best on field!

It's money... Why make a game that won't sell much and locks players up in intense struggle for years, when you can churn out a few that will sell orders of magnitude more and take much less time to finish and have little or no replayability.

I'm not in Australia anymore, but it seems like we are following the over positive trend from the United States. I have some students from the American school here, and there is an almost pathological desire to avoid failure. Failure is fine, as long as you learn from it. Avoidance is just an illusion of competence.

My wife teaches piano at the same school. Music is one of those areas where, if you don't put in the work (especially in the beginning), then you don't get results.. However hard you might want to spin it.

Our kids go to a Dutch school. If you aren't ready to go forward a year, you don't. The end, and there is no real stigma attached, and it appears to be more common than I remember in Australia.

It used to be like that in Australia. I remember being terrified at the end of every year at report time, because if you failed, you stayed back in the same year. It was a healthy fear that pushed many of us to strive for better grades. It's declined since then, though. The experts now think that to be left behind is too damaging to mental health and doesn't really solve anything. It would at least solve the problem of students not being able to write in Year 12, because they weren't forced to do so in their earlier years of schooling.

Interesting article! I think that the technology and "5 second attention span" may have something to do with it, but from another angle I think there is also a downside to "resiliency" in that it is not too far off from stubbornness or complacency. Perhaps teenagers nowadays are seen as flighty, but many older people were seen as set in their ways and unwilling to change from an otherwise downward path. A good example to this is marriage: many older ppl preferred to just stay married, whereas nowadays the divorce rate is very high. The pros of staying married is that, if successful, you can have something long lasting and fulfilling and weathered through tough times. however the dark side is that you may both be extremely unhappy and only stuck with it out of fear of change or just stubbornness (or worse, an abusive relationship). Of course, divorcing after 3 months can be seen as not putting in enough effort. Or it can be someone realizing this person isn't for them and wanting to quit while they're ahead.

I don't think there's anything particularly wrong with quitting something if it isn't working, but I do think nowadays more people are eager to jump the gun and perhaps quit prematurely under the pretense of only wanting to live a life of complete happiness and fulfillment, without realizing sometimes it's going to be very hard and you have to push through. And I think that fear of living a life of drudgery and never looking for better stems, again, from observing their parents and older generation.

just my take on it. I think a balance of both resiliency and pursuit of happiness is needed. Quitting should just be an option that is neither revered nor scorned.

Thanks for sharing your take on it, @corinneiskorean. Giving up prematurely is exactly the problem I was trying to allude to in this post. I understand there are times when stopping something is completely valid and often necessary, but too many young folk today just quit for no real apparent reason. It's a problem that if unchecked, will only worsen.

I hadn't thought of resilience as stubbornness, but can see how the two might be paralleled. There are definitely traits that the two share, however, when writing this post, I was thinking more along the lines of being able or willing to bounce back from a 'curve ball' that life might throw at you, not necessarily sticking with something despite how terrible the outcome might be. As an example, I would never ask a student to show resilience in the face of an obstacle that might do them mental or physical harm, whereas stubbornness, to me, renders images of someone who perseveres no matter the cost (or risk) to them.

Completely agree with the honesty. If younger generations see us as honest people who not only trust others but ourselves, then we've set the example for a resilient nature where kids feel like they can be safe in their surroundings and blossom. @steemitbloggers

I think honesty is one of the more important aspects mentioned above, too. Thanks for your comment @sweetpea.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steveblucher from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99