Every newbie should know this secret tip...

in #steemithelp6 years ago (edited)

...CONTESTS!


Is it ironic, that I'm writing a post about contests for a contest? I think that's actually called BRILLIANT! (haha)


I will be tagging all of the newbies we are watching this week (before we select three of them and offer them the Welcome Wagon crash course) so that they can participate in this contest by @malloryblythe as well!

Unless you have been blessed to have a veteran Steemian bring you to this platform and delegate some Steem to you, a peek into your wallet might have you dejected. It takes time to build a weighty vote, significant Steem power, and VALUE in your wallet.


What to do until those Steem dollars begin to appear in those lovely, fractional amounts?


CONTESTS


Most veteran Steemians tend to shy away from contests. It's not that we don't see the value in them - we do! There are just posts to write, posts to read, and networking to do. Contests tend to fall by the wayside. Do you know what that means? Many contests have very little competition! Newbies can compete contests for big prizes, little prizes and everything in between!

When I first came back to Steemit, I was constantly posting a new "I Won Again!" post. This is one of those well-kept secrets of Steemit! When you start to have a little bit of "loose change" in your wallet, you can start to take advantage of OTHER well-kept secrets of Steemit! (Hint: That will be the post for tomorrow!)


So - what is the prize for the contest I'm entering?

10 shares of Steem Basic Income!



And what will Welcome Wagon do if we WIN those shares?


Divide up the 10 shares and give 3 shares each to the 3 Steemians that we choose to be "Steempeered" next week! (The last share receipient will be chosen by Welcome Wagon)


So... Keep writing amazing posts! Stand out from the crowd! We can't wait to get to know you better! Hope you enter for a chance too, newbies! If you win directly from @malloryblythe - that's all 10 shares for you! Thank you @snook for pointing us in the direction of this great contest!!

@still-observer @juliaasatryan @seansecoworkshop @parisianlondoner @rachelbloom @ydraz @replayit @greenlaser @mariannelyr11 @davidkrantz


~@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon

Image source: Torn Paper

Sort:  

Yes, contests! That’s how I got some of my first STEEM, and how I met many of my first followers. You have a really good chance of winning if you enter them because usually there aren’t that many competitors. Worst case scenario, people will usually upvote your entry or your comment, and you always make friends. Some of them are pretty easy too. Mine only asks for 3 paragraphs and I’m not at all specific with the prompts, which most of us can churn out pretty quickly.

A point of clarification though, the prizes up for grabs are about about 23(ish) shares of Steem Basic Income and counting (so it’ll probably be higher) to be divided among the contestants. So far you’re only number 9 so you’re almost guaranteed to at least win a share or two. 🙂

Thank you so much for entering and helping to spread the word! I hope your newbies do enter because we could all use those auto upvotes when we’re starting out!

Yes I know you said that... but i thought it was only 10 shares for the comment who has the most upvotes - and the other 10 would be given out randomly? Either way - if we win more.... we will give more!!!!!

Thank you for your amazing comment! It's so encouraging to see MORE people who are doing amazing things for Steemit!!!!

Appreciate your generosity @malloryblythe!

~@dreemsteem, for the Welcome Wagon :)

I have been encouraging others too to join contests especially newbies. I am glad that some I have referred to have taken the challenge and are doing well because of these contests. When I was starting here, I don't know what to do. It was by joining contests helped a lot and winning them encouraged me to join more. I agree there are are contests that has not much entries and I have won in some of those.

Aren't they great??? I really think that they're incredible ways to earn extra steem, have fun, and meet people! :) I wish that more people would utilize this tool!!! :)

thanks for your comment @leeart! :)

Wonderful idea @welcomewagon, i hope you qualify.

Thank you so much @cuppcake!!! :) I think we will find out soon who wins! :)

I need to keep an eye out for more contests. I am currently doing a longer style contest, but once school is out, I'm going to find more to do. It is a great way to meet other people with similar interests as well.

It really is! Another way - is through commenting on posts that you find interesting! Usually the same type of people will also comment on those posts! Follow them back to their blog! If you like their blog - introduce yourself. Before long - you'll have the beginnings of your community :)

I just posted my entry, thanks so much for the heads up @welcomewagon. How exciting. Of course, I'll be just as happy if you win, hehe. It's like getting an free ticket in a lottery.

Yeah!!!! I will be happy for you too! :) Can you imagine getting so many all at once??? nice!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85