You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What would change about your parenting?

in #steemitmamas5 years ago

Thank you so much for your entry for Week 3! To be honest my husband and I were the same way with our first and second and then once the third came we started loosening up. I know some may say you can be over protective but I don’t believe in that. I don’t think you can ever “protect” your children too much. If we weren’t living in such cruel and heartless times then maybe it would be different. But as a parent I tend to go with my gut instinct and if something doesn’t feel right I treat it as if it’s not right.

As they get older and are able to voice their concerns or tell us when they are afraid or feel threatened, then it is easier letting go more. When we are their only voice it’s normal to be more protective.

I will admit sometimes I give myself anxiety by thinking we are always in danger but sadly with all that’s going on I don’t know how to think otherwise.

Continue to protect as you feel the need and as your daughter gets older and is able to use her voice more, it gets easier to give them more space.

Keep up the great parenting mama! 😊

Oh and I remember when I clipped my first daughter’s nails when she was a month old, I made her little finger bleed too. I cried so long and felt so guilty even though it was an accident. I stopped clipping my babies nails and just filed them until they were a little older. Their tiny hands and nails are so delicate.

Sort:  

Thanks for your kind words. I have always felt anxious when we go out, always on the look out, always paranoid. Haha. You're right. When something doesn't feel right, we should always think it's not right.
Yeah, baby's nails are really so delicate. That's why I'm always extra careful. I know I'll get over my anger over this little fingernail incident.
I hope we get more contests like this. 😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89