Dance, Little Lady, Dance!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitmamas6 years ago

194EF0C7706A4C398F9A783140EC11C7 1.PNG

I am going to come clean, I never really had any toys growing up. But I did have a lot of playtime outside. One of my most favourite pass time was inspired by the Family Weekend Treats.

We didn't own a TV til much later. So going to the Cinemas on Sundays was a big thing and we did that on alternate Sundays. I might have watched Ultraman once, but otherwise, the movies we watched were mostly Bollywood movies.

For the 4 - 5 year old me, love found, love lost meant nothing. And all that family drama, was just too much talk and crying. The only thing that made sense to me then, was the song and dance. And let's face it, no Bollywood movie is complete without the song and dance.

The heroines will change costumes, travel the world, it was magical. So I asked my Mum for a costume, and she was more than happy to sew me one. It was cotton lace in pastel yellow, a long umbrella skirt that whirled and twirled when i spun around and a matching top.

In the evenings I would go through my father's records, choose my favourite Bollywood songs, push the volume really high, step out of the house and dance among the flowers, lip-synching to the songs the best I knew how.

I had an audience, mind you. The neighbour kids, they would all just gather around watching me. The more turned up, the more I danced, soaking in all the "admiration". Now, I am thinking, they probably thought I was mad. And what a show-off! Urggghhh

That's how I spent many, many evenings, until I tripped and fell, and you would think, after all the entertainment I provided, they would have been kind enough not to laugh. Nope!! They laughed so loud, that it cut my Bollywood dreams short. I picked myself up, walked into the house, slammed the door and never performed for them again. I was too embarrassed. But I continued to dance around the furniture and over the chairs instead. Those were good times.

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

I am proud to be part of several communities here on steemit that are encouraging and supportive. And that's what you need to succeed unless of course you have the mullah. One of them would be SteemitMamas, where mothers from across the globe have come together to support, to share and to learn form each other.

Currently there's a writing challenge to encourage and to have fun. This is Day 5, Challenge 3 and you can read all about it here. If you are a mother and want in, just click on the banner and I'll see you on the other side.

Images taken with my trusty iPhone 7 Plus, edited with my favourite app Photofox

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

over20.jpg

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Awww... You were very brave to perform and I love you for doing that!! Too bad the children laughed and you never dance for them anymore! But I am sure it led to who you are today, and you participating all the beauty pageants to earn a watch! I still remember that :) What a childhood and it is not sad at all!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I was a very precocious child, nothing could break my spirit back then...
They were definitely good times
Thank you @happycrazycon for swinging by and taking that walk down my memory lane... 😊

Yeh when you talked about dancing in front of the other kids it sounded like you were talking about a Disney movie 😊😬 can totally imagine it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Going to the Cinemas was huge back then. When we got to go it was considered a real treat! I loved to dress up a lot back then too. You were very brave to perform like that in front of your neighbors. Too bad those kids weren’t gentle with your feelings. ☹️

It’s nice to look back and reminisce on the good times we’ve experienced. Thanks for sharing ~ 😊

The simple things gave us so much joy right?
Kids, they can be cruel... even today... They don't know how to edit.
Thank you @crosheille for dropping in

Absolutely they did! 😊

thats so fun! I wish I could have a childhood of dancing and singing like that! Haha I want that for my children actually hehe.. but I also can't help but get them so many toys!! (Toys I didn't really have either)

I never went to the cinema with parents though, it was until I was a teenager I think I went to the cinema for the first time with friends lol..

It was... I wish my kids could have the freedom to play outside... but times have changed so much especially when you live in the city...
I too used to buy my kids lots of toys, but lately we have been working on experience more and they are much older than your Lil Champ.
Bollywood movies are big especially for the Indians til today, you can really get sucked into the drama.. haha
Thank you @vincy for coming by 😊

Haha, I love movies too but when I grew up we always watched them at home and sometimes pirated lol... lots of Chinese kungfu and action films for us lol..
Yeh my boy needs to go out every single day! He has too much energy and I’m such an introvert so sometimes I just wanna stay home! lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

My childhood was way before days of piracy 😅
Eh hey fellow introvert haha ...😊💗

You must have been the envy of some little girl. I loved reading about how your mom created your costume. What a precious memory. <3

She was quite the seamstress... She sewed for all the girls/women in the family. So it would be similar fabric and we'd all get different designs. This happened once a year for Christmas 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95