📷 Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #4 : Ryes And Shine (Open-Faced Pastrami Breakfast Sandwich) by @shalalasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

Hello again Steemians and Sandwich Champions!

This week, I'm rejoining in on the fun with

Ryes And Shine


This little breakfast creation is actually the outcome of a hangry incident. Long story short, the intended entry for this contest was consumed much faster than I can document. And so, luckily the next morning, I was able to make something out of the leftover scraps of pastrami.

THE PROCESS:


Ingredients:
• rye bread
• pastrami
• provolone cheese
• arugula
• eggs
• sauerkraut
• garlic aioli and mustard
• 2 tbsp. of butter
• a whole lot of love, and a splash of flair


Heat the pastrami in a skillet. In the mean time, take a slice of rye bread and liberally spread butter, layer with provolone slices, and slather on garlic aioli. Put it in a toaster oven briefly to heat the bread.

Once the pastrami is hot, and the cheese is melted, it's time to build.

First, add a layer of arugula, and then a spoonful of sauerkraut. Next, add more cheese, and some pickles. Then add a heaping hill of pastrami. Finally, top with egg sunny side up.

And enjoy!


Thanks for stopping by, and Buon appetit!
Cheers, @shalala

All content by me | : Samsung Galaxy S8

Sort:  

It looks so good! I will try this for sure

Thank you @jeremydils! It's super easy, and sooooooo good!

Your presentation is just beautiful for this one. Pictures really make it look delectable.

Really diggin the arugula addition. That must have been a refreshing nutty flavour.

After first I though: Interesting choice with the sauerkraut, although now i realize it really goes with pastrami and deli meats !

Garlic aioli for life :)

✊ Yea, power to the garlic aioli!! It's a great alternative to taking garlic pills for sure.

As for the arugula, I am a tad bit obsessed with it because it is literally the perfect little sidekick to a lot of the things I make. I wish I could grow it on my own (or knew someone who does), because I pretty much can't live without it now.

As for the sauerkraut, you're absolutely correct - it pairs well with pastrami/deli meats.
And It's also a great source of probiotics. Much cheaper too.

I'm pretty sure you can grow Arugula relatively easy. Some kind of wild strain grows outside of my house. Found it this year when I was cleaning out the weeds.

I'm actually going to try and grow it properly for next year. Love the flavour and the smell!

Also Basil.. love that smell and taste too!

Congrats On winning second place in week 4! Your entry was really great. I look forward to working with you selecting winners for week 5!

Add me to discord and we'll chat next week sometime when most of the entries are in to get on the same page!

Love this one - My husband's family is from eastern Europe and they introduced me to sauerkraut. Therefore, I know what goes well with sauerkraut. Your post put a big smile on my face when I saw you added them to your sandwich!

Hi steemit-foodie! How cool that your extended family is from Eastern Europe! I love Eastern European food, and was introduced to it when I studied abroad in Bohemia where I got to eat palatschinke and sauerkraut everyday (not together though). What I love about it is that it's not only delicious, but it's also very healthy and such a great source of probiotics (higher content than the capsules/tablets being sold off the counters).

Btw, I hope you make and share with us on Steemverse your favorite Eastern European recipes one day. :-)

Absolutely @shalala - Looking forward to your next sandwich!

looks delicious

Thanks @jacksonmil980. Super filling too!
It's definitely something I'll make again.

Yummy, this looks amazing g!

Thanks @vixgriffth! If you ever buy pastrami, definitely give this recipe a try. It's super easy to put together, and pretty much foolproof.

I've never tried using pastrami as a breakfast meat, but the addition of arugula and provolone is winning me over! I bet that sunny side up egg cracked over the whole thing is pretty amazing too.

Thanks for clicking through and commenting @coruscate! I originally bought some pastrami to make a classic rueben, and I had some leftover meat, so I decided to just finish it off with breakfast. And you're right, the runny yolk over the layers of flavor is just super satisfying.

Yum!!! I want one in my face :)

but where is the chees and mayonez ;)

Oh they're there alright. The aioli is slathered on top of the butter, and the cheese melted on top. More cheese is hiding right underneath the pastrami. I was focusing on highlighting the pastrami and keeping the look clean. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61