You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tournament Creators, the Future of Steem Monsters is in your hands

Thanks for the good data and ideas. I agree that we as big players shouldn't be around the Novice and Bronze League Tournaments and I think a solution will come in the next weeks. Aggi and yaba are aware of the situation and probably diamond and Champion players won't be able to access the lower tournaments in the future. I don't mind just playing from silver or gold Tournaments up to Champion.
In regards to the win chances in a Tournamnet you really need to be a good player who knows how to build great teams.
Since a week people where complaining about the legendary summoners im small tournaments and now players slowly realize that there are good and easy counter teams for the legendary summoners. You wanna beat Prince Reynin great than go for a fast fire team and with sneak you might have a good chance against him.
I'm just saying this game goes really deep with gameplay which is good and keeps everybody aware and active to stay competitive.
There are many "new" players like @pkocjan @sharkmonsters @holger80... who really stepped up their game and became great players.
The level of skilled players will only grow over time and for me to stay on top becomes harder with ecery new season. Thats the beauty about SM and Proof of Game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I feel like the limitations set by the novice and bronze leagues do level the playing field in tournaments a little, but there is no denying that some of the very best players know something about strategy that the rest of us don’t. Also, the best players have a much larger assortment of cards, limited or not.

That said, I struggle in the lower leagues. I just lost another Silver League tournament, and I think it’s because I am used to relying on abilities that my higher level cards now have which were not available when I was back in Silver League. I don’t assume I’ll win in the lower league matches anymore. 😜

Thanks for mentioning me, though. I’m very happy to have made it to Champion II this season so far. That’s been a goal of mine for probably the last four seasons.

I am still learning how to form my best strategies. I still lose most of the matches I play against the champions. I definitely need more of those legendary summoners.

I can asure you that there are no secret strategies it really comes down to of how many battles you already watched and where willing to learn from them.
In lower leagues the legendary summoners do have an advantage but all those teams can be beat with the regular summoners as well. If my opponent knows that masterthematrix is a champion player and he probably will use the Prince Reynin against me...if you have that impression why not counter me with a fast fire team? Yeah thats the secret sauce to be willing to find the solution...and portion of luck is also involved.
Anyways I'm looking forward to the exponantial growth of the learning curve of all players. It becomes woth every season harder to compete against the same players.
I agree though that a steady re-Investment in your deck is necessary to keep up with the game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, the top couple of players seem like they’re always the top, and can maintain their ratings while playing a fraction of the battles I play. That’s what I meant by some people clearly understand the game better than others do. They can even win every tournament they enter, even with the limitations we were talking about.

I hope to get there! I do try to look at a bunch of stuff when making my decisions, including my opponents battle chain on Peak Monsters. I see what they tend to play when faced with certain mana caps and rules, and I try to find cards in my deck that can compete.

Sometimes I just look back at how people beat me, and I try similar strategies to what they did.

Thanks for sharing your views. From what I can see, it's experience as much as a strong deck that helps win tournaments at the lower levels, but the motivation to gain that experience can disappear mighty quickly when you're consistently being knocked out early. Deeper paying tournaments will help maintain that motivation, even it's just a very minor prize, it still gives a sense of accomplishment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Certainly did not mean to post this multiple times.

the eSteem app kept giving me error messages. I'm glad I checked before I just kept trying. That app is buggy AF. :)

see the above comment. :)

Not so new ;) Thanks for appreciating my game :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89