You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How a brush with death inspired a new learning experience

in #steempress5 years ago

You were so lucky that they have noticed you. By the time that you would notice how far you were you would probably panic and who knows what would happen then. I'm so happy that they rescued you.

And I'm also glad that the guy suggested you to donate. A true volunteer :) It's nice to hear that you were able to volunteer as well. It must feel like giving back for what you've received.

It's pity that you're not doing it anymore but I understand that it might get too much eventually.

I've never even heard about Wallabies before :) I've checked on google and it does look like a kangaroo :) Is this just another name for kangaroos? If so, then I'm very surprised that they thrive in Scotland :)

Thank you for sharing your story :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments @delishtreats. Yes, it's difficult to imagine what might have happened if they hadn't seen me. There were hundreds of people out on the water that day, so I probably would have waved my arms and shouted for help, but it's impossible to know whether anyone would have heard.
Wallabies are very similar to kangaroos, but much smaller. The mothers also carry their young in a pouch on their belly. It's amazing that they thrive in our climate!

You're right. It's difficult to say what would have happened but it's good that you don't need to think about it.

I live in Switzerland and I had no ideas that animals similar to kangaroos live so close to us :) Can you also easily see them during the day?

Thank you for getting back to me!

We saw them at night, and the only photos I've seen of them were taken at night. I think they hide in the forest on the island during the day. Apparently wallabies have also been spotted in England - they escaped from a zoo in the 1940s!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74