How a brush with death inspired a new learning experience

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


It was a beautiful summer day, and I was reporting on a windsurfing race. It was part of my job as a writer for a windsurfing magazine, and the Editor had lent me his windsurf board so that I could do a bit of windsurfing after the event was over.

My windsurfing level at that time, in the late 1980s, was beginner progressing to intermediate, and the windsurf board I was borrowing was a bit smaller and lighter than the ones I normally used. This meant it could go faster, but was less stable, and I was enjoying the challenge of trying to get it going, and the exhilaration of the speed when it did take off.
There were hundreds of people out on the water and the conditions were excellent, with sideshore winds. I didn't particularly notice the winds strengthening and changing direction slightly, because I was too busy trying to lift the sail up. It kept blowing over. I was just focused on trying to keep it up.

Struggling


After a while I began to feel so warm, I removed the jacket of my wetsuit and tied it round my waist. It had a "long john" design with a kind of bolero jacket. By now the wind had strengthened notably, and I was really struggling to lift the sail.
I heard a shout and a couple of guys appeared. They asked me if I was in difficulty, and suggested that I perform a "self rescue" by partially dismantling the sail and rolling it up, then lying the mast along the board lengthwise, so that they could tow me back to shore. I knew how to do a self rescue, and I didn't want to trouble them, but it did seem like a good idea, as I was really getting tired.
It was only once my sail was rolled up that I realised how far I'd drifted away from the shore. I was just starting to take this in, when a small speedboat appeared, and the driver asked me to get in, while the two guys who had spotted me hoisted the windsurf board and sail on board the boat.

I was really shocked. It hadn't occurred to me that I might need to be rescued.

Shivering


As soon as I stepped into the boat, the driver put a blanket around my shoulders and handed me a cup of hot chocolate. It was only then that I started shivering heavily. I was genuinely astounded, as up to that point I'd had no idea of the danger I was in.

I had probably been drifting out at a roughly 45 degree angle to the beach, and at quite a speed, as the wind strengthened. I'd been so focused on trying to get the sail back up that I hadn't noticed how fast I was drifting away, or how far. At no point had I felt any panic or alarm – until that point during my rescue, when I'd looked back and noticed how far I had drifted from the shore.

The speedboat driver took me to his own home, near the beach, where he and his wife helped me to warm up and recover from the exposure. He was acting as a kind of freelance rescue service. I felt incredibly grateful and didn't know how to thank him. He suggested a donation to the RNLI (Royal National Lifeboat Institution).

I was also very grateful to the two men who had spotted me drifting out to sea – however by the time I'd warmed up enough to think clearly about what had happened, it was too late to find out who they were and thank them.

It was one of those experiences whose effects sink in gradually.

Rural idyll


Over a decade later, I was living in a rented cottage on a farm near Loch Lomond, working as a freelance book editor. It was an almost idyllic lifestyle, and I'd probably still be doing it if the freelance contract hadn't come to an end.

I still enjoyed windsurfing, and by now I had a windsurf board of my own, which I used on Loch Lomond when the wind was blowing in the right direction.

Windsurfing, Loch Lomond cropped.jpg

Windsurfing at Loch Lomond.

My windsurfing skills had progressed quite a bit, and I had no more close shaves or accidents.

My only concern at the time was a slight sense of isolation. I didn't feel lonely – I had friends and family in Glasgow, about 20 miles away, and I had quite a few visitors. But I felt the need to get out more!

Volunteering


I decided to do a bit of volunteering, and I got in touch with the Loch Lomond Park Rangers. Volunteer Park Rangers are often people who would like to get paid work as a Park Ranger, as it's a very competitive field of employment. But this wasn't the case for me. I just wanted to get involved with my local community.

I was told that I could volunteer on the ground, or with the Loch Lomond rescue boat. I chose to do both! As a windsurfer, the idea of rescue boat work had immediate appeal. I also felt that it was a way for me to "give back" after my rescue all those years earlier. In fact, I'm not even sure it was as clear-cut as that. At a subconscious level, the idea of being the rescuer instead of the victim had a lot of appeal.

The "ground" volunteering took place mainly at weekends, and involved making paths, cutting back bushes, digging culverts – all kinds of things. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

High traffic


Loch Lomond is one of Scotland's most popular tourist destinations, and it sees a lot of traffic. There were passenger boats, rowing boats, motor boats, paddle steamers, jetskis, kayaks – and, if the wind conditions were right, windsurfers.

Rescue boat415.jpg

Me with the rescue boat crew and supporters

The rescue boat was an RIB, or rigid inflatable boat, partially funded by charitable donations. The crew wore drysuits and helmets, and we did practice exercises every week, often at night, as rescues sometimes have to take place in the dark. We sometimes did exercises with the local Mountain Rescue Team, practising for a potential co-ordinated ground and water rescue. I was very impressed with how well trained the MRT's collie dogs were – they would sit patiently on the boat without any display of anxiety.


Rescue boat in action.

Being out on the boat was very exhilarating. I sometimes found it a bit scary if the water was choppy and the boat was bouncing over the waves. On one night exercise in calm conditions, something went wrong with the navigation and we ran aground on one of Loch Lomond's many islands! Luckily we were going slowly at the time and there was no damage – just instant shock followed by a lot of laughter.

Loch Lomond is known for its beauty, but there is nothing like the view you get from the centre of the loch, surrounded with mountains. We also got the chance to visit some of the lesser-known islands in the loch. My favourite was Island I-Vow, a very small island in the north of the loch. Among the yew trees on the island are the remains of a castle that was built in the 16th century, once the residence of chiefs of the Clan MacFarlane. The poet William Wordsworth, who visited Island I Vow in 1803, found a hermit living in the castle ruins.

One evening we drove past the island of Inchconnachan, known for its colony of wild wallabies. Just in case you're wondering, wallabies are not native to Scotland! These wallabies were introduced by Lady Colquhoun in the 1940s, and despite the difference in climate from Australia, they have thrived.

The boat briefly stopped near the island and a torch was shone into the trees. Wallabies were clearly visible, standing on their big hind legs, looking at us with expressions of surprise and curiosity. It was quite a surreal sight. We quickly moved on, leaving them in peace.


Source Sadly I didn't get any photos of the wallabies on Inchconnachan, but this one looks similar, especially with its surprised expression!

Minor incidents

The call-outs that I was involved in were mostly minor incidents, although on a couple of occasions we were searching for the bodies of people who had been reported missing. We didn't find them.

One incident involved rescuing some lads who had gone out on a relative's motor boat, and had run out of petrol. They had no lifejackets or buoyancy aids, and were wearing light clothes. This was at a time before smartphones, so although it was summertime, they had been waiting a long time to be rescued and were pretty cold.

After a while I returned to office work, commuting to a full-time job 20 miles away from Loch Lomond, so my volunteering stint with the rescue boat came to an end. It was a very interesting and educational phase of my life.

I would highly recommend volunteering to anyone who has a bit of time on their hands. It's a great way to learn, meet new people and get new experiences.

Image sources

Main image source

Blanket photo source

All other photos my own unless stated.

 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://ramblingandscrambling.co.uk/thoughts/how-a-brush-with-death-inspired-a-new-learning-experience/

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 327 (12/01/18)

Hi natubat,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Tuesday/Early Wednesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

That's fantastic! Thanks @misterakpan :) I've only just read your message, as I've been away in the mountains again.

Hi natubat,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You were really lucky there @natubat, but a very brave lady to volunteer with rescues, definitely not a spectator nor a couch potato hey, you have to be where the action is, but that's awesome!
Congrats on the curie upvote, truly well deserved!

Thanks @lizelle! I'm not sure if I'm really brave, but I have quite a strong protective side. And I find these things a lot of fun too :)

Now I remember that December 5th is the international volunteer day after reading your post @natubat 😊 though you didn't mentioned it at all but the message you put at the end of this post is inspirational. I haven't worked as volunteer since I got married.

Seems to me that you really enjoy your volunteering days at the loch and you never thought of being a hero too. Thanks for sharing with us your wonderful old days and what? Wallabies? Good to know that it survived there.

Thanks for your comments @cicisaja, and glad you enjoyed my post! I didn't even realise that December 5th was international volunteer day! I still volunteer sometimes, and it can be great fun.

Now you know that @natubat... Happy Volunteer Day and wish you all the best.

Great story and advice for others. Congrats on the Curie upVote , this is very deserving of one for sure. I am so happy for you.

Thanks @sultnpapper! Yes I was very pleased about that.

What a story! I am glad they spotted and rescued you! Sometimes we have no idea what dangers are around the corner until we past them. Congrats on the Curie!

Thanks @lymepoet! The full implications of that incident really took a long time to sink in, but I'll certainly never forget it, or the lessons that I learned from it!

You were so lucky that they have noticed you. By the time that you would notice how far you were you would probably panic and who knows what would happen then. I'm so happy that they rescued you.

And I'm also glad that the guy suggested you to donate. A true volunteer :) It's nice to hear that you were able to volunteer as well. It must feel like giving back for what you've received.

It's pity that you're not doing it anymore but I understand that it might get too much eventually.

I've never even heard about Wallabies before :) I've checked on google and it does look like a kangaroo :) Is this just another name for kangaroos? If so, then I'm very surprised that they thrive in Scotland :)

Thank you for sharing your story :)

Thanks for your comments @delishtreats. Yes, it's difficult to imagine what might have happened if they hadn't seen me. There were hundreds of people out on the water that day, so I probably would have waved my arms and shouted for help, but it's impossible to know whether anyone would have heard.
Wallabies are very similar to kangaroos, but much smaller. The mothers also carry their young in a pouch on their belly. It's amazing that they thrive in our climate!

You're right. It's difficult to say what would have happened but it's good that you don't need to think about it.

I live in Switzerland and I had no ideas that animals similar to kangaroos live so close to us :) Can you also easily see them during the day?

Thank you for getting back to me!

We saw them at night, and the only photos I've seen of them were taken at night. I think they hide in the forest on the island during the day. Apparently wallabies have also been spotted in England - they escaped from a zoo in the 1940s!

I envy you @natubat with such experience in rescue volunteering because it is a very noble thing to do rescuing people who are in trouble.
The wallabies should be eaten though LOL other wise they will just make an imbalance in that part of Scotland.

NO! We can't eat the cute wallabies! Haha - no, they're not like possums or grey squirrels that run wild and take over. They just stay on their little island and look cute and fluffy.
Yes volunteering is a great thing to do. People don't realise how much fun it is.

Wow, you were so fortunate those rescuers were close by. I think when we are beginners we often don't realize the amount of harm we can do to ourselves. I found this with downhill skiing....crazy how fast you can go...and shouldn't! lol I too love volunteering, the rewards were endless.

Yes, we learn a lot from experience - if we survive! Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87