You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Earning money with Photography?

in #steempress5 years ago

Oh wow man! You must have been doing something wrong with those stock photos. I mean 5 bucks in 6 months is really weird. It does take a lot of time, effort and patience (just like Steemit :D) but you should have produced better results for sure. I have been contributing to SS for almost 2 years and the first months were super frustrating. But the sales were slowly increasing and since I reached the 500$ threshold (a couple of months ago) and thus upgraded to the second payment tier, it is been quite interesting... It was just a couple of days ago when one of my photos sold for 40 bucks in the "single & others" category. These unexpected sales are always exciting.

PS1: I have never owned a real camera and all my photos have been taken by a cell phone :D

PS2: You are much better, skilled and experienced photographer than me.

Considering all that, you must have been doing something wrong ;) Maybe key words or titles - these two things are super important...

Sort:  

Hey Buddy!

Uff, So it really is possible as it seems. May I ask what kind of photos you sell? And a single photo sold for 40$ - That's impressive! I always thought they all go for 0.25 cent. Are you only using shutterstock? Or different websites?

Thanks for the info, very valuable. I will not delete my account yet, as you just showed me that its indeed possible.

And yes, maybe my titles and tags just suck :D

Hey buddy, I mostly upload travel stuff - if you are on Steem chat, I can send you link to my portfolio ;) 25 cents is the very lowest (yet most common) price - there are different tiers and differert categories in which the photos can be bought. It really is important to pay attention to the title and key words - always make sure to use the maximum capacity for both and try to come up with words that the customers are likely to search for.

I'm not on steem chat yet - I'll try to hit you up on the weekend! I think my keywords are alright as I used 45-50 but my titles might just suck. I will try to go over them again. It's funny, a few hours after I published this article I had 2 more sells, Yay! haha. Thanks for helping me out here, highly appreciate it!

Ok, we can talk about that on SteemChat once you open an account there :) Btw, Julian @jpphotography has much more experience with stock photography and he also wrote a very interesting post about it some time ago ;)

wow thats amazing Petr. I should check my Accounts again as well. I´m the same, I only made like 2$ so far. But haven´t spent too much time there. Will have to check this again. But 40 for one shot is crazy!

Like I already wrote above, it does take tons of your time, energy and patience but if you really put the effort in it, it will slowly starts to pay off. Once your portfolio is big enough and you get regular sales, it can be a good way of passive income too. But it can take years. Depends of various things :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81