You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breaking Free of Captology: Stepping out of the Box for a Little While

in #steempress5 years ago

Oh how bold!
I feel those dopamine rushes here on Steemit too, and I love the fact that it got me writing again (plus the wonderful people I was meeting and cherishing) but I was starting to see that I was spending a heck of a lot of time on it (luckily I'm not connected to a smart phone so I have to actually sit down at my computer.)

It's continually a balancing act between my time spent on the internet, including the STEEM blockchain, and what I call real life, relating to my friends and family, taking care in the householders life, plus spending the time developing my meditation practice.

It's scary how manipulative things are in Cyberspace and I try to be aware of this. Also knowing what I value, where I want to spend my time makes it so I'm not being sucked into someone else's agenda for me to easily.

What's working for me is to schedule what I will be doing for the day and work in aprox. 2 hour chunks with a short break every hour or so.
It takes discipline but I like when I can look back and see what I have been doing with my time and that...
Hey! my world didn't stop just because I missed doing a post today or replying or what ever.
I give myself permission to get done what I get done, no pressure or stress about it. That seems to make it more enjoyable too.

The main thing is to keep focused and not pulled away by all those distraction. It's not easy but it's well worth it.

Thanks for this - getting us out of the box!

Sort:  

Absolutely!!! Being organised and firm with boundaries helps for sure!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87