You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Island Paradise? More Memories (Part 7)

in #steempress6 years ago

@byn,

Byn, you are a very good writer. This was very well written and flawlessly edited. I will definitely follow the series.

Mind you, as an ex-military guy, I can tell you survival isn't nearly that easy. A friction fire with some leaves ... try it. Coconuts and mangoes: By this time, they'd have lost twenty pounds apiece and would have chronic diarrhea. They need some fat and protein in their diet, pronto ... or they'll be no hanky panky going on between these two emaciated skeletons. :-)

Fat, woodash and water ... all you need to make soap. Throw in some coconut oil and Rachel smells like Eve.

Have Chuck build some fish and bird traps and have Rachel find a consistent source of eggs. Throw some clay pots in a rudimentary kiln and I shut up.

BTW ... bamboo solves a LOT of problems.

Quill

Sort:  

And I'm STILL thinking, "Why didn't I think of EGGS?" :) Seriously, awesome suggestions! Thanks again. You've inspired me.

@byn,

I'm ravenous just thinking about all this. I could eat ... a half-dozen seagulls. :-)

And seagulls ... they lay eggs in seaside cliffs by the thousands, don't they? Two paragraphs and you've got a huge source of protein. No refrigeration required.

While we're on the subject of information you never asked me to provide, all you need to do to catch a seagull is dig a cone-shaped hole down into wet sand and then drop some food around the opening, and, into the hole itself.

Birds can't jump vertically without first opening their wings. So, they jump into the hole to get the food (fish guts perhaps) but then can't get out because jumping up causes their wings to open, which is blocked by the narrow opening above.

Pluck, skewer with a stick and cook over an open fire.

Crack a coconut in half and leave the halved pieces on the ground overnight. The ants will perfectly clean out the flesh. Two bowls. Fill the bowls with seawater and let evaporate in the sun. What remains: sea salt. Salted seagull meat is delicious (we also had pepper but that's probably not plausible in your story).

Those clay pots: fill with rain water and bring to boil over coals. Crumble dried seaweed into the pot and add seagull blood and fat drippings. The blood and fat thickens the broth and adds a lot of flavor. Now throw in the cooked meat and, if you've got them, eggs. Seagull/Seaweed Stew. It's delicious, nutritious and filling.

Quill

Lol. I'm literally drooling just reading this. I might be hungry. :)

We spent almost two years living on a sailboat and spent as many days as we could anchored near uninhabited islands. Of course they were all TINY and had really nothing to show as far as fruit or birds or anything, being in the Bahamas for most of our time, there wasn't even cool things like coconuts.

Still, it really peaked my creative side and I love to imagine what it would be like. Seriously, thank you SO much for all the information. I might have to put a little more realism into this story as I go along :)

I really really appreciate it!

@byn,

Lots more where that came from. Let me know if you need to build a shelter from waddle and daub, create cement from seashells or thermite from an aluminum plate and a rusty chain. They were right after all: all that training would come in handy some day. :-)

I REALLY love the idea of writing a survival on an island kind of story some day in a much more solid, long form kind of way, so I love your ideas! I may figure out how to incorporate them into this story yet. Thanks for the suggestions! I always hesitate to take on stories like this because I know I'm not knowledgeable enough yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83