How accurate is Map my Run?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: How accurate is Map my Run?


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Fascinating, and just the type of experiment I've come to expect from you!

Though, from what I've seen and read here, I see no reason to anticipate that the errors in map my run or other cellphone apps would be always skewed to the same direction or even the same order of magnitude. Its possible that over the course of the same run, the errors would be similar enough for comparisons, but it seems like different shapes and patterns would get 'averaged out' differently.

Thanks.

Absolutely - I guess different smartpones could well have different degrees of accuracy, depending on what they are connecting to.

I will have to try out the parellels on longer runs come to think of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

My wife was hassling me just yesterday about a Garmin running device, no doubt similar to the one you are mentioning. She's out running now, doing 18 miles.. yeah that's normal for her!

Crikey... that's a good distance. Is she training for anything?

Garmins are fantastic.

Posted using Partiko Android

Not training for anything, just a complete run-a-holic.

It depends on the people... I am a running addict so for me accuracy is important!
I like to check my activities and analyse them afterwards...
I get upset when my Garmin does not work properly

It seems like you need a Garmin for sure then.

Personally I ve found my cheap one highly reliable!

Posted using Partiko Android

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.020 which ranks you at #3431 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 33 places in the last three days (old rank 3464).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94