You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breaking Free of Captology: Stepping out of the Box for a Little While

in #steempress5 years ago

This is such a wonderful piece and important topic. I was spending far too much time on steem related activities but I've recognized it and corrected my behavoirs.

I tend to refer to cell phones as digital leashes. For a time I had TWO and one had to be with me at all times, on vacations, because that's how we rolled at our company. Always accessible.

Ipads and other portable devices are just as bad. We have people come here for the off-grid experience for a day or two and the first thing they do is ask for outlets to charge their phones and tablets and our wifi password. Then they'll start reading and telling us all about what is happening at home - where they aren't. Isn't this slightly insane?

I haven't had a cell phone for over a year now. I missed it at first but now I appreciate the luxury of not having one. I actually feel better off 99% of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87