You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breaking Free of Captology: Stepping out of the Box for a Little While

in #steempress5 years ago

Well... I can't say that I don't enjoy Steem.. I really do. It's my naughty secret, among many others.

Naughty? you may ask... "How could Steem be naughty?" Well lemme show you.

Absolutely every single one of those arguments were aimed at the internet and repeated ad-nauseam back during the 90's. The major media of the time were shit-terrified of such a disruptive technology, and did everything they could to crush people enthusiasm for it. And now, the "Free" internet services, which are anything but, are shit-terrified of people owning themselves online. Even governments are scared, because if self-ownership becomes a thing in a virtual space, how long before people start agitating for it in on the ground?

I've been researching this heavily within certain occult (e.g. concealed) subcultures lately, that are all, in their own way, incarnating the subtle art of IDGAF. For me, Steem is part of that research. Steem reminds me of what the net used to be, prior to the fetters of social media. I have never considered it to be source of financial freedom, for I consider such to be a pipe-dream. When I want money, I'll get a damned job...

And I'm getting one, because I want an RV for me and my fur-baby... and I'll kill debt, and I'll save plenty, and I will have many experiences that others beat themselves black-and-blue to get, all while laughing and playing my harmonica, gathering more strength and Learning. I found the cheat-code for Life. It's been here all along...

And it is every bit as forbidden and demonized as you would expect. Society cannot abide Freedom.

But as Aunt Lili says: FAIR IS FAIR. I'm so grateful...

And yes.. I'll be posting it here, because why not?

Sort:  

Sure. Agreed. But I totally think that all of these technologies are designed to steal our attention, otherwise what's the point of them? They wouldn't exist if people didn't pay attention to them.

I loved the internet about ten years ago. Now I don't so much. As you said, Steemit gave me mojo back. But still, it hasn't replaced the internet for me. And that's not even the point - the point is that there's no subsitute for real life, and this stuff affects your brain. Whether it's dapps or something else, we're all enslaved to something.

Lol. Well yeah, the internet is certainly not a substitute for real life. In the winter though, it'll have to do. Do you have any hobbies?

Posted using Partiko Android

He he.. hobbies?? Seems such an old fashioned word.

Hobbies include surfing, yoga, gardening, pinhole photos (well... the desire is there) and Steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well... I suppose those might be considered hobbies.. But I meant something you could sit and do in the air-conditioning, listening to a podcast and generally just chillin' with a nice buzz. <3

Nope. I don't even understand the word hobby, clearly. Is that like knitting? 🙄

Posted using Partiko Android

But when is attention enslavement, and when is it choice? Is it always choice, to enslave the self? As humans we do it constantly. Whether we have awareness of it or not, we are taking part in the bigger picture with our attention... And our intention.
This was such a great article. I love what happens when we plug in to the real world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Society cannot abide freedom, well said that.
What a world to build for self, that of freedom. Can't wait to hear more about it, whilst we build our own. 😊 Thanks for sharing.

Xx ToL

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88