You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cryptocurrencies, Blockchain and Value

in #steemromania5 years ago

Like absolutely anything else, the value of it, in terms of that garbage called Fiat, is purely down to people placing faith in it, Fiat proves that you can sell a lie based on trust alone, that a bit of useless paper (Fiat currency) is worth exchanging for a house, car or helicopter, insane is it not?

The problem with crypto currencies at the moment, not blockchain, more the byproduct that is crypto keys known as the currency (BTC, steem, or any other) are so difficult to exchange for goods and or services, even with credit style cards like advanced cash card, you get charged money for using the card, to get it to the card costs you a percent from the exchange you sent it from, say for instance I send steem as I did last night, to bittrex, I then change the steem to BTC losing a percent, then I had to send the BTC to coinbase, sell it for Euro losing another percent, then send that to my bank, losing a charge in Euros, and by the time it hit my bank today, the bank took a percent.

We need to clean up all the loose ends in the blockchain/crypto space, way too many "middle men" and that is why the masses will not as yet, adopt it.

And that is without mentioning "having" to register with your id on all the sites in between, then having to wait up to 1 hour for 6 confirmations from BTC transfers, it is all so long winded and time consuming, as it is now.

Sort:  

Excellent comment @shepz1

Are you still in Poland? I just moved here lately and I would be happy to "connect" with you one day :)

Yours
Piotr

Yes, 30 km from Lublin, we have a farm. :-)

Take some photos :)

Perhaps I can visit you once during summer time @shepz1 :)

Yours
Piotr

I agree, the steps we need to go through in order to use the value created by cryptocurrencies in the real world is quite draining at the moment. I think that at my last transaction from steem to fiat I lost more than 10% of the value.

Another major problem that crypto faces in being used in the economy is price volatility. One of the first tokens that will see mass adoption, I believe, will be a stable coin that does its job properly without being backed up in FIAT. Most probably google or facebook will be able to create such a token and give it a constant value by saying they will accept it for services at parity with the USD, for example.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87