You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why MENE should set up in the UK.....

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Well, thats FedEx for you. I had the same with a watch from Japan. First they pay the VAT to the customs, then they want that money back from you plus interest for the "loan" - all unrequested and without a chance of refusal.
Lesson: do not order stuff outside the EU that cost more than the tax free sum, which is 40 Euro or so over here. Or if you do, calculate another 25% at least on top of the original price.

Sort:  

After paying the ransom fee.... Well technically its not a ronsom as I already the item. 🤣

I did question what they would actually do if I didn't pay. I had no contract with FedEx!

I've had things delivered from the US before and had to pay duty/tax. Usually they come via royal mail/ParcelForce and they hold the item till you pay up. I think it's a much better way to do it. At least that way you can refuse to pay and send item back.

I'd guess, either they force you to pay by court order, or they send the item back to the vendor. Then you have a new problem: to get your money back, as they will charge the vendor for additional cost.
You are screwed one way or the other. I decided to pay - and not do this again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87