Why MENE should set up in the UK.....

RGgukq5E6HBM2jscGd4Sszpv94XxHH2uqxMY9z21vaqHt1VY3ercBrTgQrwH1YcTeDANo6AwrBjfrRxvaVPtXArG6hoMDEH7ixua6jwTL3zqSMCfv12sD7br9EZ9Tka.png

If anyone has found my luck, can I have it back please....

So why should #mene set up in the UK?

IMG_20181201_103024.jpg

IMG_20181201_102643.jpg

Waiting for me when I got in from work last night were 2 letters frem FedEx! Very strange I though... What could they be?

"ohh remember that platinum charm you bought 2 months ago? Well we want payment for it"

Yep that's right folks, more import duty/tax claimed by the bain of my life HER MAJESTIES REVENUE & CUSTOMS (HMRC)

Then I looked at the dates these letters were sent. Where have they been all this time?

Well it gets better.

IMG_20181201_123254.jpg

FINAL NOTICE

That escalated quickly!!

IMG_20181201_103317.png
IMG_20181201_103407.png

The best part (sarcasm...) is the lovely people of HMRC charge duty on the $75 on top of the price of the #mene24k jewellery. Very un-cool.

So after taking in to account the import duty and tax paid, using today's value of the charm which is:

IMG_20181201_103317.png
IMG_20181201_103336.png

Plus the lovely people at FedEx add there own "handling" fees.

This charm has cost me almost double its current value

SO PLEASE, MENE, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, MOVE AND PUT A BASE HERE IN LONDON.

Im sure you would get a lot more customers if you did.

image.png

Sort:  

It would certainly help to have a packing facility in Europe somewhere, but there is still hope...

You can ship MENE items to a trusted friend in the US, which is free shipping. Then have the friend repackage (reduce size/weight=reduce cost) and send. I did this for my buddy @jackmiller 3 times already and have two more charms to send out right now for him and one for @fbslo as well. I was able to reduce Jack's shipping from $75 USD to under $5 so it's worth asking a friend in the States to help.

Sorry to see the costs mounding for you and hope the next round goes better for ya, mate! Happy Stackin

Thank you for using CryptoSicko the sickest delegation and subscription upvoting on Steemit. Full details can be found at @steemcryptosicko

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Well, thats FedEx for you. I had the same with a watch from Japan. First they pay the VAT to the customs, then they want that money back from you plus interest for the "loan" - all unrequested and without a chance of refusal.
Lesson: do not order stuff outside the EU that cost more than the tax free sum, which is 40 Euro or so over here. Or if you do, calculate another 25% at least on top of the original price.

After paying the ransom fee.... Well technically its not a ronsom as I already the item. 🤣

I did question what they would actually do if I didn't pay. I had no contract with FedEx!

I've had things delivered from the US before and had to pay duty/tax. Usually they come via royal mail/ParcelForce and they hold the item till you pay up. I think it's a much better way to do it. At least that way you can refuse to pay and send item back.

I'd guess, either they force you to pay by court order, or they send the item back to the vendor. Then you have a new problem: to get your money back, as they will charge the vendor for additional cost.
You are screwed one way or the other. I decided to pay - and not do this again.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by welshstacker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

hiya completely with you this one, i like mene but don't even consider buying it, i would be much more likely too if they had a uk place, so i add my plea to this post as well; please set up in uk mene, thank you for sharing, much respect to you

Thanks Beckieg, we get screwed over all the time. Our silver is so expensive too!! I'd easily have doubled my stack if I lived in the US with their prices and access to cheap silver.

I hear ya welshie, and feel about 1/3 of your pain what with fedex fees and 12% sales tax...

I think my next Menē might make a stop in either Alabama, Oregon or California... 😜👍

I have been using our Yank, ssg friends. Saves on p&p and import tax. Got to love the tax man

You live in a strange land that charges a lot of taxes and duties on many things. I can see why the people in the USA had the Boston Tea Party. Too many taxes.

I'm sorry you're having a rough go with the Queen's reps. Hopefully your luck comes back soon.

No one likes to pay taxes, but we see no direct benefits from it either, so it's a double kick in the Nutts.

Fingers crossed my luck changes soon.

If they had a uk place everything would have to carry UK hallmarks, it would cost them - but at least then any pieces of gold over one gram could actually be classed as gold here not "yellow metal"

I do love my yellow metal.

Good point on the hallmarked stuff. Well maybe just a packing depot in Europe would be better. Would save me so much on p&p too that any extra cost would be covered.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00