2 Minutes with the Farmer: How to Tell if a Silver Dollar is Real or Fake???


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are talking about silver. Specifically we are talking about how to tell if a silver dollar is real or fake.

The first test is the magnet test. Silver is not magnetic so magnets will not stick to silver.
The second test is you can weigh a Silver Morgan Dollar. It should weight between 26.5 grams and about 27.2 grams. Fake ones will generally weight alot less.

These are just two quick tests that can help you identify fakes really fast.

Thank you for watching and spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hum...a magnet? Makes sense! Thanks for the tip!

Sorry, the tip is higher then your deposit.
You can check your balance by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: balance
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD)

Thanks for sharing @bowentroyer, great tests, will be investing in a nice magnet when I go shopping for coins.

hey rollingthunder ..howdy this evening! yeah where do you think you can buy one of those little magnets or can you? I never bought one before, hardware store?

Just look on your fridge @janton, pry that magnet off that Welcome to Wyoming ceramic souvenir. LOL. But if you can, go get one with a lot of PULL force.

haha! yes sir that's good advice and that's what I'm gonna do, thank you!

I took mine out of a toy my boys had. I am sure you could find one at a hardware store

yes sir, I'll research online, who knows, maybe Walmart has them?

Best of luck to you

Sorry to correct you - a little - but silver is "paramagnetic" and exhibits a weak magnetic effect. A slider gives that unique slide of silver. Where any other metal slides down quickly or sticks, silver will slide down smoothly. But you are right it should not stick to a magnet.

Thanks for the info.

howdy sir bowentroyer! who taught you how to talk anyway? and I see you still got that chicken scratch sign on the wall. makes people study the Word because it takes ten minutes to decipher it.

But, I hadn't heard about the magnet before, I wonder why not? so simple but never thought of that so that's rather brilliant.

all in all, a low-average to fair video with one good point. lol. God bless you guys!

I will work on my talking skills;)

yes do that please. haha! you know I'm just totally teasing you I'm sure, you guys are great at that and you don't need any work. I'm just a goofball! lol.

Never thought of a magnet test. That’s a good idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74