You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Is a Thing Not The Thing?

Well, let's see. To answer your question, no, I do not have any war nickels in my collection. I have no collection. I might start a collection with a war nickel, though, if I can find one.

I didn't realize there was a contest. This is a no rules contest? I can see someone got it right already though so at least someone figured out what you were talking about. :)

Sort:  

That's ok. I didn't have any of them until this last weekend. I thought that nickels, like dimes and quarters, had silver in them until 1965, but I was wrong. They only have silver from 1942-1945. They're a little more difficult to find, but I think they're a neat piece if you can get them. And that don't cost too much, so there's that.

Yeah, it was an obscure contest. @phoenixwren did a great job of sorting out my madness to see what I was getting at. I wasn't sure anyone would get it, so I'm glad they caught on.

I didn't know that nickels only had silver in them during WWII. Interesting. I would guess then, that they took their nickels out of nickel making seriously.

I'm just realizing that I might have caught onto your contest had I associated the question in the title of your post with the answer in your contest. Makes sense when I put both of them together. :)

It must be getting late, or something. I'll blame it on being tired rather than being totally and completely oblivious. Can you be partially oblivious?

"He's only mostly oblivious, not completely oblivious. There's a difference."

It's sort of like being mostly dead. Don't worry about it. Things can still get better. Ha ha.

I'm super tired right now. I shouldn't even be awake, but the neighbors decided it was a good idea to get THREE roosters and they crow all hours of the day and night. Sometimes, on nights like tonight, they each take five minute, rotating shifts to make sure that there's never more than 20 seconds of silence. Oh, they're also 50 feet or so from my bedroom window. This isn't even an area where roosters should be! It's not farm country. Come on, people!

We've got someone with chickens close to us, too—haven't quite figured out yet who, but the good thing is, we don't hear them regularly anyway. We live in a rural town, though, so I guess smaller farm animals are allowed.

What we do have chattering all the time are an assortment of wild birds. Mostly robins. I've been chasing them out of the strawberries multiple times a day every day.

Wait. Don't you have chickens, too?

That's nice that you don't hear them often. As someone who does hear roosters often, I am not a fan. It's strange to me that ever after we've told them there are issues that they would continue to do nothing about it.

I was wondering what was eating my strawberries. I figured it was the robins as well. I put some chicken wire over the top of that part of the bed. That seemed to work last year, but I had taken it off this year when I was replanting and I forgot to put it back on. A few of the berries paid the price. I don't have a direct line of sight on the beds, so chasing them off isn't as feasible for me. Maybe I could get a scarecrow. :)

No, we don't have chickens. We house sit for some friends who have chickens. They don't have roosters though and their chickens are very well behaved, so we don't have any noise issues with them. I could see someone having chickens if they wanted the eggs, but unless you have a whole farm of birds, it doesn't make sense to have a rooster, much less THREE!. The chicks are so cheap to buy that it's probably less expensive than feeding the rooster all year so you can get your own.

Ah, okay. It was the friends chickens I was remembering with the chickenlypse deal.

I don't really have a good line of sight for the birds, either—unless I open the back door of my home office and then raise the shed door so I can look out on the garden. Angle isn't that good for the strawberries, though.

I usually see the pesky varmints bobbing about when I go from the office into the house or vice versa. Then, I try chasing them off. Some of them just aren't scared though. One in particular dares you to come closer and then hops up on the fence or into the tree waiting for you to leave because you think they've gone. That's all I need are birds questioning my intelligence and my observational skills.

Guess I need to get some chicken wire, if that was working for you.

I've thought about something like a scarecrow, but these birds would probably just come in anyway unless it was moving and made some kind of a sound. If my wife wasn't allergic to cats, we could get one and deploy it in the backyard. I don't think they eat strawberries, or do they? Might be like leaving the fox to guard the hen house.

Yeah, we've been over there enough recently that it feels like a second home. I wasn't a child of divorce, but I could imagine that it would be tough to always be shuttling back and forth between houses. That's basically what my wife and I have been doing for the last month - two months and it's taking a toll. We don't have any more scheduled after this weekend and I think we're both looking forward to staying home for a bit. We enjoy helping them and hanging with the animals, but it will be nice for a short break. That being said, we're still game the next time they need us. That's how life works. :)

Robins are crafty creatures. I don't know that they're known for being as smart as crows, but they're still a force to be reckoned with if for no other reason than they don't have anything else to do, so they can harass you all day long.

I wouldn't want some birds questioning my intelligence either. You could get a BB gun and show them how creative you are. If they start shooting back, then you know they're calling you out. ;)

I have chicken wire around my beds, and then I just put another piece over the part where the strawberries are. Last year that was enough to deter them from getting in there. I'm hoping that now that they've found the strawberries that I won't have to cover the whole thing to keep them out as they could easily fly in from another angle. We'll see.

I wonder if you could get some of those streamer things that move in the wind and then if you have the slightest breeze, it could scare them off. You know, the ones on a stick that spin? We used to get them when we were kids.

As far as I know, cats will eat grass, but not strawberries. Although we had a cat once that liked to eat cooked peas. We would get frozen ones and heat them up. If we put them on the floor for her, she'd gobble them up. Ha ha.

I've heard of places around here that have feral rescue cats. If you get those and put them in a cage for a week with food, water, litter box... and then let them out after a week, that they'll hang around because that's where the known sources of food and water are. You don't have to look after them or anything, just refill the food dish. I don't know if it'd work, but it's a thought.

I wouldn't mind leaving a fox in the rooster house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87