When Is a Thing Not The Thing?

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I'm a man on a mission. That mission: to bring you new shiny to see as often as possible. Now yesterday saw me feature some awesome new silverware that I bought. If you haven't seen it, check out my new .925 sterling silver set. Yes, It's just one place setting... but it's a start

Today I'm going to show you some other things that I picked up over the weekend. I know, normally you show the small stuff and then go for the finale, but I wanted to wow you out of the gate. So please forgive me if this isn't as epic. Still, they're some nice pieces that I'm happy to add to my collection.

image.png

Here are 10 WWII nickels. Nine of them are from the P mint (Philadelphia) and one is from S (San Francisco). I like that they aren't as shiny as the regular nickels. I think it's strange that even though there's no nickel in the War Nickels, they look like "brushed nickel" finish for a faucet or something.

Some of them are a bit worn, but I was able to pick the best ones and this is what I got. Surprisingly, the price wasn't too much over spot, so although it's not the most economical way of stacking, they are unique coins that I didn't have and I was able to add them without paying too much of a premium. One day I'd like to get some that are in better condition, but for now, I'm thrilled to have some of these pieces of history in my collection.


- Do you have any War Nickels in your collection?

- Contest: What's the answer? (100% Upvote prize for the 1st person to answer correctly) Update: We have a winner!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

oh and the answer is 42

Ha ha, that's not the answer to the question, but it is the answer to everything, so you still get something! :D

Yes, I have war nickels in my collection. I actually have a bunch of them. I'll have to dig them out and post them.

Right on! Yeah, I'd love to see all of them in their combined glory. Ha ha. Tag me when you do. :)

I will for sure. I might even put some up for sale/trade. Tomorrow I'll look for them.

Hey, they're pretty cool. I might be interested. We'll see what funds I have if/when it goes live.

Sounds like a plan. I accept just about anything for payment. SBD/STEEM/Most any crytpo or get creative. :)

Right on. I'm going to start on that interpretive dance for you right now. I'm going to tell you ahead of time that I'm not a classically-trained dancer, so this is going to be very interpretive. I normally charge by the hour, but it sounds like you have a lot of nickels, so you should be fine. ;)

Your nickel coin collection is nice but how many coins have you collected thus far, what is your future intentions with these coins. i only have seven coins that i collected from my father some time back, i might start buying some coin if it has some future economic benefit attached @themanwithnoname

I'm planning on saving these. There's silver in these nickels, so there's actual value other than face value. I plan on holding them until such time as I need them. It might be soon, it might be a long time, but I plan on holding them for quite a while.

I'm into buying silver now, so I think there's future economic benefit, but you'll have to do your own research. ;)

I have yet to get any but I would love a roll or two just for the fun of it

I thought about getting a roll of them, but they just had them in a dish, so I picked through and found 10 that I liked. I figured that it was enough to say I had some, not just one or a few. They're cool. My personal opinion is that if you have the chance and the price is good, go for it. Do your own research though. ;)

Yes, I have at least two a 1942 S and 1943 P. They are beat up, they were ones I found as a kid and put in a folder.

I just recently began looking through my coins. I still need to catalogue them.

Right on! They look great, probably better condition than the ones I just bought. It's funny how things that you may have gotten for face value now cost a bunch more. I guess it pays to hoard (at least when it comes to coins.)

Looking forward to hopefully seeing more of your catalog.

I am excited to begin catalogueing them. I have probably owned them for over forty years, an estimate based on that they are in a folder, from when I was kid/teenager. But, I have a lot of loose coins that I need to go through. Since I was a kid I always checked my change for interesting coins. I don't find them as often, but when I do I save them.

I do the same thing. I keep all my change and then sort them and turn them in at the bank for bills. I then spend those bills on things I want (Just kidding, the bills normally go toward bills. See what I did there?) I'm tired, so I'm easily amused right now.

You should double check bills too, I have occasionally found silver certificates and old two dollar bills.

When it's not a movie or a comic book character?

You're getting close, but it's not so abstract. It's very tangible. :D

Oh! Duh! When a nickel is not made of nickel!!

Good job! You got it right! :D

Ha ha ha. Congrats. Thanks for taking the time to interpret my crazy contest.

No i don't have any war nickle and besides I was not born during the war. Lol. Hope I win the contest😊

I wasn't born during WWII either. You'd have to be 73 to have been born before the end of the war. How old do you think I am? ;)

We already had a contest winner, but thanks for playing along. :)

I can't tell your age but since you are the man with no name then you might be the man with no age. Lol.

I thought that was a pretty good contest. Very did you read the post and comment or just comment and not read the post. I doubt I would have caught the right answer, but since I read the comments also, I know what the answer is, and damned if it wasn't 42, just like I thought when I saw that phone booth just down the road, with a hitchhiker's thumb graffitied on it, or was it a thumb grafted on to it. I just could not tell for sure, I was passing by so fast.

Heh, yeah 42 is normally a pretty safe answer if you don't know. I don't know what the numerical equivalent of "nickel" is, but maybe someone does and can tell me. :D

Nickel:
Symbol: Ni
Atomic number: 28

I don't know how important the number is but if you took half of 28-14 and add it to 28 you get 42, so I guess 42 is the answer to everything.

Look at that. I guess it really is the answer to everything. Thanks for proving it for us. ;)

Well, let's see. To answer your question, no, I do not have any war nickels in my collection. I have no collection. I might start a collection with a war nickel, though, if I can find one.

I didn't realize there was a contest. This is a no rules contest? I can see someone got it right already though so at least someone figured out what you were talking about. :)

That's ok. I didn't have any of them until this last weekend. I thought that nickels, like dimes and quarters, had silver in them until 1965, but I was wrong. They only have silver from 1942-1945. They're a little more difficult to find, but I think they're a neat piece if you can get them. And that don't cost too much, so there's that.

Yeah, it was an obscure contest. @phoenixwren did a great job of sorting out my madness to see what I was getting at. I wasn't sure anyone would get it, so I'm glad they caught on.

I didn't know that nickels only had silver in them during WWII. Interesting. I would guess then, that they took their nickels out of nickel making seriously.

I'm just realizing that I might have caught onto your contest had I associated the question in the title of your post with the answer in your contest. Makes sense when I put both of them together. :)

It must be getting late, or something. I'll blame it on being tired rather than being totally and completely oblivious. Can you be partially oblivious?

"He's only mostly oblivious, not completely oblivious. There's a difference."

It's sort of like being mostly dead. Don't worry about it. Things can still get better. Ha ha.

I'm super tired right now. I shouldn't even be awake, but the neighbors decided it was a good idea to get THREE roosters and they crow all hours of the day and night. Sometimes, on nights like tonight, they each take five minute, rotating shifts to make sure that there's never more than 20 seconds of silence. Oh, they're also 50 feet or so from my bedroom window. This isn't even an area where roosters should be! It's not farm country. Come on, people!

We've got someone with chickens close to us, too—haven't quite figured out yet who, but the good thing is, we don't hear them regularly anyway. We live in a rural town, though, so I guess smaller farm animals are allowed.

What we do have chattering all the time are an assortment of wild birds. Mostly robins. I've been chasing them out of the strawberries multiple times a day every day.

Wait. Don't you have chickens, too?

That's nice that you don't hear them often. As someone who does hear roosters often, I am not a fan. It's strange to me that ever after we've told them there are issues that they would continue to do nothing about it.

I was wondering what was eating my strawberries. I figured it was the robins as well. I put some chicken wire over the top of that part of the bed. That seemed to work last year, but I had taken it off this year when I was replanting and I forgot to put it back on. A few of the berries paid the price. I don't have a direct line of sight on the beds, so chasing them off isn't as feasible for me. Maybe I could get a scarecrow. :)

No, we don't have chickens. We house sit for some friends who have chickens. They don't have roosters though and their chickens are very well behaved, so we don't have any noise issues with them. I could see someone having chickens if they wanted the eggs, but unless you have a whole farm of birds, it doesn't make sense to have a rooster, much less THREE!. The chicks are so cheap to buy that it's probably less expensive than feeding the rooster all year so you can get your own.

Ah, okay. It was the friends chickens I was remembering with the chickenlypse deal.

I don't really have a good line of sight for the birds, either—unless I open the back door of my home office and then raise the shed door so I can look out on the garden. Angle isn't that good for the strawberries, though.

I usually see the pesky varmints bobbing about when I go from the office into the house or vice versa. Then, I try chasing them off. Some of them just aren't scared though. One in particular dares you to come closer and then hops up on the fence or into the tree waiting for you to leave because you think they've gone. That's all I need are birds questioning my intelligence and my observational skills.

Guess I need to get some chicken wire, if that was working for you.

I've thought about something like a scarecrow, but these birds would probably just come in anyway unless it was moving and made some kind of a sound. If my wife wasn't allergic to cats, we could get one and deploy it in the backyard. I don't think they eat strawberries, or do they? Might be like leaving the fox to guard the hen house.

Yeah, we've been over there enough recently that it feels like a second home. I wasn't a child of divorce, but I could imagine that it would be tough to always be shuttling back and forth between houses. That's basically what my wife and I have been doing for the last month - two months and it's taking a toll. We don't have any more scheduled after this weekend and I think we're both looking forward to staying home for a bit. We enjoy helping them and hanging with the animals, but it will be nice for a short break. That being said, we're still game the next time they need us. That's how life works. :)

Robins are crafty creatures. I don't know that they're known for being as smart as crows, but they're still a force to be reckoned with if for no other reason than they don't have anything else to do, so they can harass you all day long.

I wouldn't want some birds questioning my intelligence either. You could get a BB gun and show them how creative you are. If they start shooting back, then you know they're calling you out. ;)

I have chicken wire around my beds, and then I just put another piece over the part where the strawberries are. Last year that was enough to deter them from getting in there. I'm hoping that now that they've found the strawberries that I won't have to cover the whole thing to keep them out as they could easily fly in from another angle. We'll see.

I wonder if you could get some of those streamer things that move in the wind and then if you have the slightest breeze, it could scare them off. You know, the ones on a stick that spin? We used to get them when we were kids.

As far as I know, cats will eat grass, but not strawberries. Although we had a cat once that liked to eat cooked peas. We would get frozen ones and heat them up. If we put them on the floor for her, she'd gobble them up. Ha ha.

I've heard of places around here that have feral rescue cats. If you get those and put them in a cage for a week with food, water, litter box... and then let them out after a week, that they'll hang around because that's where the known sources of food and water are. You don't have to look after them or anything, just refill the food dish. I don't know if it'd work, but it's a thought.

I wouldn't mind leaving a fox in the rooster house.

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01