Stackin' Goal Achieved

One of my 2018 Stackin' Goals was to add a $1 and $3 Gold Princess to my stack 'cause I think they are purdy.

When I sent off my 2018 Palladium Coin to be graded, I also sent a $1 Gold Princess coin from 1874 that I picked up recently at a coin show that I thought was in pretty good shape. I was hoping for an MS grade, I knew it would be close, but it came back as an AU58. Its still a beautiful coin and a nice addition to the stack. I'm still on the hunt for a bargain $3 Princess coin but those are pretty rare and I'm not sure bargains are around.

I love the coins of the 1800's, they are a lot classier than most current versions in my opinion.

IMG_4248.jpg

IMG_4249.jpg

The history of the $1 Gold coin vs. a $1 Silver coin is pretty interesting if you are into that sort of thing...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gold_dollar

@matthewwarn

To invest in Mene24k Gold Jewerly click Here
To open your own BitShares account, click Here
To open your own Binance account, click Here

steemsilvergold_logo_by_pawos-1.jpg

Sort:  

You’re killing it mofo! That’s a beauty 🤩👍

Boom!

Au58.. I get MS70 is the dogs bollux, so does the Au58 grade and value above what you paid for it?? I've never had anything graded so wouldn't know what it costs and how much it adds.

Some people say, that having a coin graded by a trusted company makes it easier to see as it is more "trusted" to be genuine. But I've also heard stories of buyers getting stung by fake ngc graded coins (obviously not from NGC just in fake capsules)

Ungraded, they are around $200-$250 for a good version that wasn't used in Jewelry. One of the things about the $1 and $3 Gold Princess coins is that many of them were used in Jewelry so they are considered damaged from a numismatic standpoint. I paid $210 for the coin and $25 to have it graded and its clearly worth more than that at current prices. I'm not big into numismatics but I'm starting to dabble where I think there may be big upside in the long run. Most of these coins will go to my daughters when I'm gone so I'm buying things that are rare and have upside potential and are relatively close to spot. But I mostly stack ounces close to spot. Numismatic coins are in the basement right now compared to where they have traditionally been. All of the collectors interested in coins are dying off...kids nowadays want crypto lol

Man I am soooooo jealous....been looking for a good $1 gold coin for a while now without paying threw the nose for it. And that AU58 is a good grade. Most of the better ones are that. Very few MS grades out there and they command a great premium. Nice score👍

$210 for the coin and $25 to have it graded...I did good.

You did fantastic that grade goes for over $350

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

excellent...see my latest on gold...(I believe you'll find it interesting)

You got a 19.29% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @matthewwarn!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80