Daily Coin # 81 A 1942 D 6 pence From Australia

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Here we have another .925 gem from the land down under .During WW ll close to a million US military personnel were based at various locations throughout Eastern Australia between 1942 and 1945 , putting a large strain on the supply of available coinage . As the US personnel were paid in cash a larger supply of coins was necessary. The US mints in San Francisco and Denver were enlisted to assist as well as the mint in Bombay India . I have seen sites list Australian coins with an s on them as Sydney , but as far as I can tell they were minted in San Francisco . The coin you see here is a 1942 D made from .925 silver , weighs 2.82 grams , and is 19.50 mm in diameter by 1.29 mm thick .
The obverse of this coin shows a portrait of King George VI facing left and written on the outer rim are the words "GEORGIVS VI D.G. BR : OMN : REX F.D. IND : IMP" (latin for "George VI, by Grace of God, King of all the Britons, Defender of the Faith, Emperor of India") .
20180612_094150.jpg
The reverse of today's coin shows us the original Australian Coat of Arms (also called the Commonwealth Coat of Arms) based on the design granted by King Edward VII on 7 May 1908. The coat of arms shows a shield flanked by a kangaroo and an emu , topped by a seven pointed star , and sitting atop a banner that reads "Advance Australia " . The mint mark (D) and the year below .
20180612_094142.jpg
The edge of this coin is reeded .
20180612_094157.jpg
Thanks again for upvoting and looking at my post ! mikegpo
Attach0.jpg
download_20180321_150757.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Oh, my! There is the emu!!!! You know the new Perth MInt coin that came out.. the Emu? I wondered if there was a coin that featured it before this. And... there it is. The kangaroo and the emu... in the coat of arms, and but of course!

:-)))))))) they have been on Australian coins for over 120 years !!!!!! Sorry my bad only 108 yrs .

Exactly, right? So I do not collect coins. I do not have any Australian coins. What I have a are gold Kangaroos, silver modern bullion coins from Australia... and numerous coins outside of US coins, and arrrgh.... all of them have Elizabeth II at the back. How should I know?

I will rely on you to school me on bullion coins then ss !!!! ;-)

You must be kidding, right? All info I use in my articles is properly referenced because I know not anything original about anything. You, on the other hand, is a walking genius in history and information on all the world coins. That is why I come to follow this series....to be "schooled" by the great mikegpo, numismatist!

You flatter me !!!😘😘😘my friend

As @silversaver888, I came here to be "schooled" also. Great teacher. And the teacher was right when he said that the Australian coat-of-arms is only second to the Canadian coat-of-arms. Both are beautiful.

Thank you so much Rinaldo !!!!

giphy (51).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

SSSSSSSPLAAAAAASSSSSSHHHHHH AHHHHHHHH FEELS GOOD !!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97