You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some amazing new wood pours to the collection!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

interesting technique.

It reminds me of a time where some construction workers had been pouring cement near our house, and some time later I found a piece of broken off cement with the outline of a leaf in it, the leaf itself having long-since decayed.

Human-made fossils !

I wonder if a technique like that could work with silver...
I guess it'd be problematic since the silver has to be hot to be poured, but if the biological object has intricate surface texture and they can get imprinted into the silver, and said biological object can be entirely degraded afterwards, it could make for something interesting.

Sort:  

I think pouring directly onto the leaf would just incinerate it, but I wonder about taking an impression of a particularly veiny leaf into delft clay or some similar medium than pouring into it perhaps, but I'm not sure if you could press it hard enough then extract in cleanly. Damn, I just really need to start pouring myself so I can try all these ideas out.

Hmm.... you could always press the leaf in, then place it in an environment where the leaf decomposes completely, instead of removing it ?

Or convince Nervous Systems to share their leaf vein generation code and 3D print a high detail negative mold using Shapeways 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89