You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Educating Family About Money : Part 1 – Gold and Silver

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Thank you, @buggedout for the nice article.

I have a similar problem with my family. Especially smart and successful people are difficult to convince that they've been fooled.
I have found a good way, though. I ask them about fiat currencies. Questions like those:

  • Where do they derive value from?
  • How much of the USD is printed and how much of it is in digital form only?
  • Can governments issue more money if they want? Do they?

My realisation is that it is quite difficult to explain the Cryptocurrency phenomenon without a basic understanding of money and currency because it is important to understand what problem Cryptocurrency is actually trying to solve.

I totally agree. The problem is that we all take the meaning of money for granted. No one teaches us about it.

Do you use any material that helps you educate family about money?

I have found Andreas Antonopoulos's speeches very enlightening.

Sort:  

Do you have a link to any particular speech that interests you?

Links to specific speeches would be good!

Thanks. I haven't seen much of Andreas speeches. Thought he was more of a blockchain guy, but I might have to study him up a bit more before I write part 2 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75