Taking my Silver on a field trip - to shape a nation. We even broke the law!

Today is a very special day in New Zealand, Election Day! So I thought to myself, I should mark this occasion with a special trip for one of my coins. There is only really one that springs to mind for this trip.

Yes that's right, I took one of my coins out a special trip, to help me decide the fate of a nation! 

The day was extremely nice for a change, we have had rain pretty much the last six weekends in a row, so me and one of my favourite coins took a drive to the nearest polling station.

Have you guessed which coin I took for this special trip yet?

Thats right, the 2016, Silver Shield, VOTE NOBODY coin. I think you will all be able to see the symbolism here!

This is our easy vote card system. Take the card in with you and they can have your ballot paper ready in just a minute or two.

And now for the finale ...... we had to break the law to bring you this shot. My VOTE NOBODY coin even joined me behind the ballot box to help me choose my votes carefully, whispering in my ear "different parties, same shit" (from the Silver Shield Republicrats coin). 

We had to be careful, as it is illegal to take photo's in the polling station, especially if you are deciding your vote based on the wisdom of a coin! Jokes, I didn't flip the coin or anything for my choice!

I hope you enjoyed the little trip I took my coin on today, I thought that this is a one in a million (well 1 in 3 year) opportunity to get my coins involved in the shaping of the country.

Please Remember to VOTE NOBODY - Because NOBODY CAN HELP US!

@silvernova

Sort:  

Good one. I still believe we should vote!

I totally agree, no vote is a wasted vote!

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @silvernova! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

While your on a political theme im sure one of my ancestors was a prime minister in new zealand back in the day (john ballance)
Love the Silver sheild coins, what a way to document the current paradigm, silver ,social comment and history in the making.

I'm a huge fan of SBSS coins, too, but Chris has lost his mind recently with his childish anti-crypto tirades.

He does have some valid points to make concerning cryptos, points that are always nagging me at the back of my mind. I think most of the cryptos will become extinct for the very reasons he distrusts them ,ponzi schemes, no valid use, competition etc. I think he likes the blockchain though.
The more i research the blockchain the more i realise just what a revolution this is going to be when it goes mainstream, im just trying to pick out tokens that will survive past this experimental phase and be around in 3 years, i just wish CD would open his mind to their potential, ive even got a SSBS coin with the bitcoin symbol on it from a few years back so he must of liked what he saw at some point

I used to think his arguments against bitcoin were valid, but the more I learned about the technical promise of bitcoin, the easier it became to see that he was just talking his own book.

The fact that Chris says he "loves blockchain" but not bitcoin demonstrates his fundamental misunderstanding of the technology - as Andreas Antonopolous would say, Chris cannot distinguish between "Blockchain and Bullshit":

The way Chris expects blockchain to be used (as a receipt/digital ledger for physical goods) is already done with SQL databases. Blockchain is just a database technology, after all. But try telling that to Mr. Duane.

I love Chris's work on silver and think he's made some wonderful videos over the years. I even own a couple of his coins still. But his whole shtick of "I'm against bitcoin for conscious reasons" is wearing thin. He's against bitcoin and crypto in general because he put all his eggs in the silver basket operating under the assumption that precious metals were the only viable safe-haven during a monetary crisis.

The very existence of bitcoin proves the entire "Silver Bullet Silver Shield" thesis wrong - Chris's childish anti-crypto rants are just his way of coming to terms with his new reality, I think.

Cast my vote yesterday!
Should be a quick count they reckon tonight!

I suppose when you are only counting a few million votes, it shouldn't take too long. Our whole population is just the size of a big city overseas! Glad to hear you voted though, even if you don't vote for a winner, a vote to show you don't agree is better than no vote at all!

Yup, if you don't vote you can't complain!

Thats an excellent coin! I wish I'd had that to show around to friends and family during the US election last year!
Interesting that you're not supposed to take photos in your polling place. Here, in Virginia at least, it is OK to take a photo of your personal ballot.

Yea there were big signs saying no photo's, also there can be no social media posting about who you support, a few slightly archaic rules around voting here still. But I am glad we are not voting electronically, the last few US elections have me a bit weary about electronic election fraud.

Yea, the fully electronic machines just seem ripe for manipulating. The past few elections here we fill out a ballot on paper and just feed it into a secure box, I'm not totally sure, but I think all it does is count it like a scantron. Of course the paper ballots are all still available for hand counting should there be a need.

Well it's good to know there is a paper trail to follow if there is some dispute over the votes! I just don't think people are trusting enough to let it go completely digital.

Excellent coin chose! Thanks for sharing

Haha, yea I thought it was pretty fitting for Election Day! It's a really cool coin, and you can see the Bill Clinton influence on the Vote Nobody guy.

Yep cast my vote yesterday. I like your coin choice you took with you. Maybe it should have run for election!! Probably wouldve done really well. Guess we'll see tomorrow. Great little post @silvernova, even if you did break the rules was totaly worth it. YOU get my vote :)

Thank you, I am glad you cast your vote, it's a pity Nobody wasn't on the Ballot, your right, he probably would have done quite well.

Too funny! Upvoted and followed ;)

Though I'm not sure what Chris Duane would say about his coin being featured on Steemit, what with his vitriolic hate of cryptocurrencies these days...

Haha, Chris is aware I am showing his coins on here, he hasn't said anything as such about it. I know his feeling on crypto's but I have yet to hear if he has an opinion on steemit. Thanks for checking out my post!

Congratulations @silvernova! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64