You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Silver Lining

I pick up silverware whenever I see it. Most is E.P.N.S (Electro Plated Nickel Silver) but sometimes I get lucky. Oh and just because it's .925 don't be afraid to melt it. I pour .925 buttons all the time for practice.

Sort:  

Right on! This is the real deal. He did have some plated stuff, but I don't know how to tell how much silver is in that. I like with the .925 that I can tell how much is there by weighing it. Well, the knife is only 1/3 silver, but that's ok.

If I every start pouring, I'll hit you up for some tips. :)

The plated stuff has very little silver and is a PITA to get off. I'm no pro when it comes to pouring but will help if I can. I've done about everything wrong so far that you can do wrong. lol

I figured there wasn't a whole lot on there. That's one of the reasons I wanted to go with .925.

Ha ha, I'm sorry so many things have gone wrong. I know the feeling. Hopefully you're getting it figured out and are able to start seeing some progress. Sometimes it's the little victories that keep us going.

I was just considering today if I wanted to get into pouring, but I would need a fair amount of capital to get that started. I think I'm going to focus on other things, but if the situation changes, I might get some ideas from you about how to start.

It's not that expensive to start. I just have a crucible, whip and some Map gas. Total cost is under $40. My biggest issue was not getting it hot enough. It took more patience than I had, now I'm taking my time. Give it a shot, it's fun.

Really? You don't have to get a furnace or something to heat it up? $40 you say?

Whip, is that like whipping cream? Come on! I'm loving pouring already. Pour me some more of that! :P

Here is the setup I got. $12.50
Crucible & Whip
Here is a good starter mold. $12.50
Mold
Then you just need a torch and gas.

Thanks for the ideas! That's seems really doable. I'm going to look into it more. Here's a small thank you for you. :)

Thanks man! Let me know if you have any questions, I'll try to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61