Silver Lining

So I found out that I didn't get into #steemsilvergold... this time. But I can still keep posting about my passion and they say I'll have another shot at it soon. But I need to make more posts on silver and gold. That I can do!

photo-1483521359264-7b4d6d71b123.jpg
Source

Fortunately for me, I have some new loot to showcase as my Stakitus was acting up really badly over the last week. I was happy when I found myself at the weekend with a little extra coin (paper bills) in my purse (olde timey purse, like the leather pouches with the strings. Still not getting the picture? Never mind, it's a wallet.)

I had to run an errand and thought "oh, no, it's going to take me by the coin store. I guess I'll have to stop in!" I'm sure you can hear the reluctance in my voice. I had my bill launcher ready and a bit of ammo in it, so I knew I didn't have to worry about walking in unprepared.

The man behind the counter and I talked about a lot of different coins and through the process, I let slip that I have been dreaming of getting some actual sterling silver silverware to eat my food. If I'm going to be a real stacker, I need to eat like one. He said that he could help with that. He walked into the back and then returned with a shoe box full of sterling silver.

If you're not into numismatics or if you are just stacking for weight, or if you want some awesome silverware that's made of silver, check this out... "They sell it at melt!" My jaw just about hit the floor.

I had been looking on overpricedbay.com and they were selling a spoon for $50. I wasn't going to pay that. But here I had a chance to get it at melt! It's all .925 so I can't melt it into my own rounds, but hey it's more weight on the stack! And I can use it to eat my food. I feel like a freaking king when I do. I'm getting ahead of myself though, you want to see a picture, right? Well, here you go.

image.png

As you can see from the picture, I got a fork, a knife, a serving spoon (to be read: cereal spoon), an ice cream spoon, and a butter knife. I'm beyond thrilled to add these to my collection and glad to get the chance to showcase them for you as I haven't seen a lot of Silverware in #ssg posts.

I'm hoping to pick up more as they had a lot. Just have to reload the money-launcher...


Do you own any Silverware?

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Hey, man, that's got to be the absolute coolest post on silver I've read to date. Not only the eating like a king thing, but getting it at pauper prices. That's like an economic inversion dealymajigger right there!

Okay. I'm going to figure out how to do this buying Silver thing. The issue is how to do it and tell the wife. Don't tell the wife, 100% chance of success. Tell the wife, diminishing returns to below zero. Yes, we're actually talking subzero chances here, and a lifetime lease in the doghouse. And not no comfy uptown snooty kind of doghouse mind you. We're talking slapped together as an afterthought because it's actually a glorified cardboard box kind of doghouse.

Did I sell that enough? I think I may have. :)

I'm glad you liked it. I thought that it would be a little different flavor than the silver posts that I've seen. I still like the coins and rounds, but it's so cool that I can invest in this and I can use it to eat dinner like a boss. :)

That's like an economic inversion dealymajigger right there!

I feel like this should be on a t-shirt. :D

slapped together as an afterthought because it's actually a glorified cardboard box kind of doghouse.

Sounds like you should invest in a better doghouse first. Then put the old doghouse facade on it so she still thinks that it's dingy inside and won't know that she's really sending you to your man cave... which is where you should keep the silver.

It sounds like you're going to need to be selling some other things before you're going to have the money to buy silver. Then again, maybe if you find a really nice (not beat up) almost complete set at a shop near you, you could buy the whole thing and give it to her as a present! That's thinking. ;)

I love economic inversions. I dream about them. I devise worlds around them. A T-shirt would be child's play in comparison. :)

Man, you get a dime being worth a $100 and it just sends shivers. Or you have a fancy mansion selling at the price of a low end manufactured home—whoa! Getting chills just thinking about it.

Yeah, I could probably do some doghouse upgrading, or at least end up in my 'man cave.'

Now, for every other wife in the world, the silver silverware set might work, but see, at our wedding reception, instead of getting mostly toasters, we got mostly place settings and serving bowls. So we have back ups to our back ups to our back ups in the event we run out of the silverware we regularly use.

I'll have to think long and hard on that one, as good of an idea as it would otherwise be. I'm getting the feeling I'm an odder duck than I already admitted to.

I love economic inversions. I dream about them. I devise worlds around them. A T-shirt would be child's play in comparison. :)

Have you considered becoming an economic analyst. There have to be people out there who could use a quality numbers guy like yourself. Or you could at least sell the shirts on facebook. :P

I'd love to find out that some of my dimes were worth $100. I'd sell them. I also wouldn't mind getting even a regular house for a regular house price, not a mansion price for it. That's the current market though, so we're still renting for the time being. When the next correction happens, maybe we'll jump in then.

So what you're saying is that you already have silverware and are going to do some posts on it?! I'm sorry, buddy. That's a bummer my idea didn't work. Most of the younger generations aren't buying silverware or asking for it on their registries. I think one of the reasons is that it's just too expensive and people don't look at it as an investment. More for me to buy at low prices, I guess.

Hey, it's the odd ducks that don't just burst into the sky and get shot out of it by the hunters. Keep that in mind. You're not allowed to shoot a sitting duck. That's the rule. Heh

I do like the idea behind economics, but I've never studied it or gone too in depth with it. I understand you can make quite a bit of money forecasting, like a glorified weatherman. :)

I do have to say, though, the little I've heard Milton Friedman speak was extremely fascinating. I wish he were still around. The people we have running the show now aren't really interested in sound economic principles anyway. They're in the pockets of some big agenda or have one of their own.

We did get some pretty heavy forks and knives out of the deal. I have no idea what they're made of, but you could give a good sized lump to someone if you thumped them with say a spoon. Not that I have any practical experience with that. I'm just guessing. You know, doing my solid numbers guy thing.

I'm an Oregon Duck fan, so I prefer no duck shooting of any kind—running, passing, kicking or sitting.

I haven't looked into it too much, but if you don't have the background, you'd probably have to go back to school for that. Uh oh!

The people we have running the show now aren't really interested in sound economic principles anyway. They're in the pockets of some big agenda or have one of their own.

No comment. I'd like to say many things about this, but I'll refrain. The world is a crazy place.

Hey, you could always trade with your wife: you get to buy new spoons and she gets to thump you with them. And we all get to observe how big of lumps the spoons can create. No? Ok, yeah, bad idea. :D

Fair enough. Gotta keep rooting for the home team. I can imagine that it's difficult to be a fan of a sports team and not live near them. Although I haven't really been into sports as much recently. The last few years have been "meh" for me regarding sports. Oh, well.

Refraining on the economics. Fair enough.

No lumps because of silver spoon thumps, thank you.

I root for teams where I don't live all the time. In the Super Bowl, I rooted for the Philadelphia Eagles despite being more of a New England fan because the Miami Dolphins, who I grew up a rabid fan of haven't done diddly squat since Marino retired. Haven't lived in Florida, New England or Philadelphia.

I'm also a BYU football fan, and I don't live in Utah, although I'm sure that's more akin to being a Notre Dame fan who doesn't live in Indiana.

I'm currently rooting for the Golden State Warriors to win the NBA championship, even though I have no ties to the Bay area, and nor do I want them. So, with the exception of the Ducks, you could say I have carved out a lifetime of rooting for far off teams, depending on the prevailing circumstances. When you live in a state that only has a fair to middling NBA franchise, that's kind of what happens.

You make valid points. I rooted against the Patriots in the Superbowl as well. So whoever plays them gets my vote.

I more meant that it would be rough to grow up rooting for a team and then move away (maybe to a rival's city) and have to root for your old team there. I can't imagine it's easy being a Bears fan in Green Bay. Ha ha.

Yeah, when you're local teams suck, it's sometimes necessary to search out another team to live vicariously through.

I pick up silverware whenever I see it. Most is E.P.N.S (Electro Plated Nickel Silver) but sometimes I get lucky. Oh and just because it's .925 don't be afraid to melt it. I pour .925 buttons all the time for practice.

Right on! This is the real deal. He did have some plated stuff, but I don't know how to tell how much silver is in that. I like with the .925 that I can tell how much is there by weighing it. Well, the knife is only 1/3 silver, but that's ok.

If I every start pouring, I'll hit you up for some tips. :)

The plated stuff has very little silver and is a PITA to get off. I'm no pro when it comes to pouring but will help if I can. I've done about everything wrong so far that you can do wrong. lol

I figured there wasn't a whole lot on there. That's one of the reasons I wanted to go with .925.

Ha ha, I'm sorry so many things have gone wrong. I know the feeling. Hopefully you're getting it figured out and are able to start seeing some progress. Sometimes it's the little victories that keep us going.

I was just considering today if I wanted to get into pouring, but I would need a fair amount of capital to get that started. I think I'm going to focus on other things, but if the situation changes, I might get some ideas from you about how to start.

It's not that expensive to start. I just have a crucible, whip and some Map gas. Total cost is under $40. My biggest issue was not getting it hot enough. It took more patience than I had, now I'm taking my time. Give it a shot, it's fun.

Really? You don't have to get a furnace or something to heat it up? $40 you say?

Whip, is that like whipping cream? Come on! I'm loving pouring already. Pour me some more of that! :P

Here is the setup I got. $12.50
Crucible & Whip
Here is a good starter mold. $12.50
Mold
Then you just need a torch and gas.

Thanks for the ideas! That's seems really doable. I'm going to look into it more. Here's a small thank you for you. :)

I don't, but I have ikea stainless steel. 😃

We have mainly stainless steel flatware from Crate and Barrel or something. This is for me. Although I'd love to get a few more sets. I need to remember to talk to the guy tomorrow about holding more of it for me.

I havent ventured into the silverware yet. It is an intereing path to go down especially if you can get it for spot or less!

I couldn't talk them into selling it for less than spot as they don't get much of a markup on it anyways. Still, to pay no premium and have something that I can actually use in everyday life was mind boggling to me. Your mileage will vary, but you might consider looking into it and see what's available in your area.

Awesome Blondie! I love it... great post and great way to stack :) .... I have never thought of looking for that when I'm out and about, but you have now given me an idea. Thanks for the interesting way to buy and you did a great job of showcasing it :)

I'm glad you liked it. If you end up getting some, let me know. As always, I'd love to see pics of the newest silver acquisitions. :)

@themanwithnoname they will be coming in about 2 weeks... they wait for the check to clear!

Right on! That will be a fun day. Yeah, they would probably want to get paid before sending it out. Otherwise they could get ripped off a lot. Not that you would, but someone probably would.

@themanwithnoname Yes I completely understand... people do funny things when it comes to money... I can wait for the check to clear for sure! ;)

Ebay is full of scalpers ... congrats on your nice find. I don't own any silverware myself. I am more a collector of unique coins that I find in my random change.

Yeah, I could see the being the primary personality there. At the same time, if you really want a specific coin, it's nice to have a place you can get it, even if it's at an inflated price. I'd rather have it and pay a bit more than not have it, assuming I really want the coin. I definitely can't afford Amazon prices though. Ha ha.

I used to look for the US bicentenial quarters in my change. I hadn't gotten any for a few years, then I got both of the two quarters I got in change were bicentenials. And that was at the coin store. Ha ha.

Thank you for your comment, even though my ponting is very poorly lacking in writing.

I'm glad it was helpful. Best of luck in your Steemit journey.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by themanwithnoname from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80