You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I Almost Broke My Ankle Longboard Racing!

in #steemskate5 years ago

yesterday I was practicing riding on the longboard, but I was way much worse equipped. Didn't have a helmet, gloves, special suit, elbow and knee protection. This is how my knee looks today

kolano.jpg

It is crazy how fast you can ride on the longboard, compared to the traditional skateboard. I think I will stay with the second one. Extreme sports for life :)

Sort:  

Ouch. Yeah I am a big fan of protective gear. That leather suit was the biggest investment by far, but every time it saves me I feel it's probably the besy money I've ever spent. Mind you no amount of gear will save you from some of the serious slams you can have, so make sure you learn carefully and slowly, so as to not break your body.
As a rule, i never hit hills that take me up to speeds i don't feel safe stopping at, which was around maybe around 40 kph max. Slowly over the years i worked my way up to my current max speed, which is just under 100kph. Planning to work my way up to that video, build the audience a bit first.

Posted using Partiko Android

100kmph ?! damn man !
you're pro

I'm close, but pros usually skate up 140kmph. I still need to get faster if I plan to play with the real pros. But i'm mostly in this for the fun of skating, not competition.

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely I must buy a protective gear or switch into traditional skateboard ;p

Helmet and slide gloves are the minimum I skate with. Knee pads if I plan to do slides. Perhaps i'll do some educational videos on safety soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87