[Gear Review] Solar + Hand Cranked LED Lantern: For When Shit Hits the Fan But You Gotta Look Stylish

in #steemstem6 years ago

This was a fun discovery. I was looking to see what all existed in the way of lanterns that combined multiple methods of charging. I didn't expect to find one that looked like a mashup of the 1800s and 2020s.

It ran me $17 on Amazon, maybe I could have gotten a lower price by hunting around but I had to have it ASAP as a gift for my girlfriend (I got one for myself as well). As you can see, there's a solar panel on top for charging the battery, same as a basic garden light.

...But there's also a fold-out crank on the bottom in case you're exploring a cave network or something and cannot rely on sunshine. On top of those two options you can also USB charge it. That's a godsend because the run time is pretty short (3-6 hours supposedly) but when connected to one of my power banks, it ought to run for literal weeks.

The one downside is that the LEDs just aren't very bright. I think this was a compromise so they would draw very little power and in turn wouldn't require much cranking to keep them going. I have some pop-up LED lanterns that are like 200 lumens though, so there are other options available.

The important thing about this one is that you're never truly out of power. There's always a backup option which, in a survival situation, is more valuable than just having such a massive battery that it will run for days or weeks at a time. Then again, not to be macabre but if the rescue team doesn't find you within a couple of days you're probably dead.

For long term camping though, or an apocalyptic scenario, this would be a valuable item to have. I'd rather not actively hope the world ends just to justify my purchases but if it does, I'll have lots of cool gear for armed looters to steal.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Once my wife got this type of gift! But as you said, lights are not very bright and after couple of months time, the light went too damn! My country has 365/7 sunlight, but it didn't work well! So I don't know how it might work at Euro zone!

Cheers~

We are having the same at our home but instead of solar energyand LED bulbs kerosence is used.

simple tools that are very useful and energy efficient. the impression is also unique. I think something like this should be home for materials in times of emergency. or brought in the car.
especially with solar cells will certainly be easier.
Thank to information.

Wow, with so many charging alternatives, you're never going to darkness @alexbeyman. Nice gift for your girlfriend.

Hey alex
well thats one stylish lantern O/
i would love to have one but 17 $ wow a bit expensive
cheers

This hand lantern is good, but for camping overnight we have to have more than 1 unit of lantern, in because batteries too small, even though we have to day charge by using the sun. The solar panel on the lantern is too small ... to absorb the minimal light. If we inside the cave beyond 3-6 hours can die us like your word @alexbeyman ... 😀😀

Someone should invent a better solar lantern with a larger panel and battery then, they could make a lot of profit.

Really @alexbeyman .. I really agree with you...

Yeah this kinda of cheap power lanterns are very common in my country. The major problem is power and black outs is a hobby to power holding companies, the cost of running on generators are high as the price for purchasing the fuel is very high. This is what I call { Damn the power Holding Company }

I feel you. They need more competition to force them to do a better job. But I wrote another article today about cheap solar power systems you might like.

Oh really, I missed that. I had a very long day , had to take a nap into the night and I’m quite awake now, I’m checking the posts I miss and I bet I should get there soon. I started from the most recent

This a cool handy renewable enrage based tool. The most interesting part is the design of the lantern. It is equipped with latest solar tech but the design is cool old school one. And looks gorgeous too. :D

It's only left to upgrade your house to make it run on solar energy.
And you will finally become a solar man!

Seems you got a hush for solar powered equipment and that is a good one. Most of these things are needed in Africa because of power outrage. Having this solar powered lantern over here at night will be a good one to start especially for those who have examination to read for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94