You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Environmental Issues: Grand Canyon 4

in #steemstem5 years ago

Ferrets are pretty awesome. I have an old friend that keeps them as pets and the pictures she posts are always really cute. It's too bad the tribe couldn't look into some of the advancements that are being made in Small Modular Nuclear Reactors. The newer ones are immune to meltdowns and EMP's. They also require a relatively small footprint compared to traditional power plants.

Sort:  

I actually had a little interaction with the Black Footed Ferret project. I knew a couple that were both PHD candidates at WSU and they actually had a pair at their house for remote breeding purposes. I think the pair they had were 3rd generation. And they were pretty cool creatures...

I don't know what the tribe is going to do beyond close that coal plant when the contracts run out. They may well look into those small reactors. The concept would work really well on that res.

I heard a report just yesterday that the company has been accepted for a test run at Idaho National Laboratory. (Twin Falls, ID) Their purpose there will be as 'fill in' for a wind and solar project. Their quick spool up and down time is the key to the test to provide continuous power after dark and when the wind isn't blowing. Should be interesting.

That is really cool! I like mongooses too. If I lived in an area where there are poisonous snakes, I would definitely have a pet mongoose! Is that Nuscale that is building the fill-in power station?

It is Nuscale. I heard it yesterday on NPR and remembered your interest in it.

Should be really interesting. The Nuscale guy said "We have a battery with a two year charge rate in this project. Our reactors will be cheaper than the same kwh in batteries."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67