You Don't Need a Gym to Fulfill Your New-Years Resolutions

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)


Before you read this blog post, CLICK on the image above ^^ and enjoy the video.

With the first month of 2018 nearing its end, peoples New Years resolutions have either come to fruition or fallen by the wayside.

If your goal is to exercise more this year, then, this post is meant for you.

Studies show, that, to have consistency, in the long term, one needs sufficient intrinsic motivation to perform a task [1].

Sometimes, however, our will to exercise is trumped by TIME, life's greatest commodity. A review, on 66 academic studies, found that; 60% of Europeans and 50% of Americans are unwilling to sacrifice family, career and leisure time for exercise [1].

I get it, traveling to the gym, doing a routine, then, going back home, can become an inconvenience which disrupts our daily routines.

You end up with two choices:

  1. Put 'training' above other things.
  2. Exclude exercise from your daily routine.

More than half of us will choose the latter.

What if I was to propose a third option?
Would you consider it?

(3) Exercise whenever you want, without, the need for a gym.

Human movements should not be confined to four walls and machines. Any environment is conducive to exercise. All we need is a little guidance and some creativity.

The video above is a snapshot of the many forms of exercises you can perform without a gym and specialized equipment. Some of these movements, however, do need a little practice to complete them safely.

In the field of Sports Science, for example, Biomechanists focus on the moving parts of the body. Using their understanding of gravity and physics helps them to correct techniques [2]. The right movement strategy not only improves the efficiency and performance of movement but also preserves the structures involved.

In future posts, I will analyze each of the exercises, demonstrated above, using this biomechanical approach.


Follow @exercisinghealth
Until then, you can read my previous work on human movement mechanics:

Running related injuries are at an all-time high, because of shoes

How to Prepare the Body for a Handstand- Movement Prep #1

How to Prepare the Body for Heavy Lifting- Movement Prep #2

Stop running, until, you watch this video!

Our relationship with gravity (part 2)- ‘The Neck’

Our relationship with gravity (Part 3)- The Knees

Our relationship with gravity (Part 4.1)- Taking a Stand on Sitting


Sources:

[1]https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3441783/

[2]https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/15896091

Music by Joakim Karud: http://soundcloud.com/joakimkarud


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I was jealous watching the video, I am in cool down because of a knee issue (the doctor says my kneecap does not fit the way it should, it's more upwards and to the right - I was born that way), so no lunges and squats for me, it's still sore after 3 weeks of not putting much stress to it....

I still hit the gym on weekdays even if I have to push myself because I admit it, when it becomes a routine and when you can't have the training you want it's annoying! My point is, if you want to exercise, you will find something to do so whether it be going to work on foot or working out at home (which I have done for a couple of years).

As for extra exercises, I think you got most covered. There are also lots of ab-exercises and with a set of weights and rubber bands you can do wonders as long as you have a good technique. I love combinations: 20,lunges-20,abs-20,biceps for example. Some of your exercises were really demanding for most people, but you covered for all levels of competence.

I'm sorry to hear about your knee. Are you working with any physical therapists to help stabilize​ the knee?

Yes, I agree with you. Small changes, like, taking the stairs instead of the elevator, parking your car 500m from your destination and walking the rest of the way are a few of the many ways we can become more active. My yia-yia tells stories of how she would need to walk half a kilometer, each way, to fetch water from the well. Village life was way more active, by default, than we need to be nowadays​. This is part of our problem. Everything has become to easy for us, physically.

Rubber bands are definitely​ awesome tools to add resistance exercises to your training regime. They are also ultra light and portable for traveling. I may include such exercises in future posts. Thanks for your recommendations​.

I wish you many happy and injury free workouts in 2018. :)

The doctor said I just need to go with isometric exercises with rubber bands, all we can do is just strengthen the supporting muscles. There must have been a tiny cyst behind the knee that is causing all the fuss, but nothing more serious to demand an MRI and drugs. It is getting better, but it's taking too long and I wish I could speed things up a bit, but hey... I should just be patient.

And besides rubber bands, why not bring a friend and do some couple training in a future video? Or improvisations with a football? I love such exercises too!

I wish you many happy and injury free workouts in 2018. :)

Thank you so much!! :D

The body works at its own pace unfortunately. I really hope you get back to full fitness as quickly as possible!

That is an excellent idea. Please keep the ideas coming. :)

Have an awesome week!

Great video! My workout today was this pile of firewood :) no gym required :D
20180126_145534_1.gif

Wow, that looks like it was a lot of work!!! Manual labour can be the best form of exercise. I remember watching a video of a guy who digs graves for a living. He was very muscular and lean. He said that he had never stepped into a gym, but, gained his physique through manual work.

Hanging leg raises, dips, reverse hyperextensions :-)

Do you follow Westside Barbell? They love their reverse hypers.

No, I don't. I watched some videos by Louie Simmons, very informative. Yet my gym is not suited for any higher sophistication of trainings methods, so I am keeping it rather simple.
I learned about reverse hypers from gymanstic bodies by C. Sommer. I found them quite effective when I could do them few years back. Unfortunately, I am still figuring out where I can do them in my current gym or at the outdoors calisthenics place :D

Yes, Louie has an incredible mind for this stuff.

I came across gymnastic bodies a few years ago, when I was learning the muscle up. I used his ‘scaling’ exercisies to help me along. He is a brilliant thinker too.

If you are into gymnastics/callisthenics, check out Carl Paoli.

wow, ve got a lot of work to do on my body, and thanks for the, should I say tips

I'm glad you liked the post! We all have a lot of work to do, that's​ the beauty of exercise. As we improve, our goals advance... It's​ a never-ending​ quest, but, fun at the same time.

Buen vídeo de entrenamientos amigo.

Gracias, estoy feliz de que lo hayas disfrutado :)

You got a 100.00% upvote from @bigboi courtesy of @bigboi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57