You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Don't Need a Gym to Fulfill Your New-Years Resolutions

in #steemstem6 years ago

I was jealous watching the video, I am in cool down because of a knee issue (the doctor says my kneecap does not fit the way it should, it's more upwards and to the right - I was born that way), so no lunges and squats for me, it's still sore after 3 weeks of not putting much stress to it....

I still hit the gym on weekdays even if I have to push myself because I admit it, when it becomes a routine and when you can't have the training you want it's annoying! My point is, if you want to exercise, you will find something to do so whether it be going to work on foot or working out at home (which I have done for a couple of years).

As for extra exercises, I think you got most covered. There are also lots of ab-exercises and with a set of weights and rubber bands you can do wonders as long as you have a good technique. I love combinations: 20,lunges-20,abs-20,biceps for example. Some of your exercises were really demanding for most people, but you covered for all levels of competence.

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear about your knee. Are you working with any physical therapists to help stabilize​ the knee?

Yes, I agree with you. Small changes, like, taking the stairs instead of the elevator, parking your car 500m from your destination and walking the rest of the way are a few of the many ways we can become more active. My yia-yia tells stories of how she would need to walk half a kilometer, each way, to fetch water from the well. Village life was way more active, by default, than we need to be nowadays​. This is part of our problem. Everything has become to easy for us, physically.

Rubber bands are definitely​ awesome tools to add resistance exercises to your training regime. They are also ultra light and portable for traveling. I may include such exercises in future posts. Thanks for your recommendations​.

I wish you many happy and injury free workouts in 2018. :)

The doctor said I just need to go with isometric exercises with rubber bands, all we can do is just strengthen the supporting muscles. There must have been a tiny cyst behind the knee that is causing all the fuss, but nothing more serious to demand an MRI and drugs. It is getting better, but it's taking too long and I wish I could speed things up a bit, but hey... I should just be patient.

And besides rubber bands, why not bring a friend and do some couple training in a future video? Or improvisations with a football? I love such exercises too!

I wish you many happy and injury free workouts in 2018. :)

Thank you so much!! :D

The body works at its own pace unfortunately. I really hope you get back to full fitness as quickly as possible!

That is an excellent idea. Please keep the ideas coming. :)

Have an awesome week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69067.71
ETH 3754.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72