You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our fear of Artificial Intelligence - is it reasoned?

in #steemstem5 years ago

Hi @neavvy, I got your memo and came to look. Thanks for the head's up.

This is not a topic I give too much thought to. I'm in SE Asia and do not see news or watch movies or read books, so it just never comes up.

Anything Elon Musk says, I would take with a big grain of salt. I feel like he is a manufactured character. I'm pretty sure he will soon be disgraced in any number of ways. I do watch gossip sites that have been fairly reliable in the past and he seems to be falling apart these days. Lots of stories are told about him in recent months relating to drugs and not having the money people think he has.

I don't drive so self-driving cars are not something I think about either. I do ride public transport and sometimes hand my money directly to a driver on a dirt road. I do not think a computer is coming soon for that job, but you never know.

And here is how they clean a canal in Bangkok:

IMG_3335.JPG

There are people down there in the muck and the job took about one month in the little section I could see.

Sort:  

Hey there, @fitinfun, I recognise you from @world-travel-pro threads! :)

I don't drive so self-driving cars are not something I think about either.

That won't stop a self-driving car from running you over. I don't mean to be rude, and I am certainly not wishing that on you or anyone, I'm just pointing out that the existence of such automatons threatens us all, whether or not we choose to think about it.

I walk in the streets here in SE Asia, so any number of vehicles could run into me at any given time. Sidewalks are non-existent or impassable for the most part.

Usually I am walking in the path of motorcycles, cars or trucks with people in them and they all have avoided me so far. As far as I know none of them have been self driving, but I don't really pay attention.

When your time comes, your time comes. Worrying about random tech that might evolve to kill me is not something I spend time on.

Well, I can relate to that! I have nearly been run over by motorcycles on the sidewalk here in Buenos Aires more times than I can count.

But, as nicely as possible, and with sincere respect, there's nothing "random" about this tech we are discussing. It is all very much calculated, and there is no place to hide. It will reach out and touch all of us, all too soon.

Well, I will let you worry about it for me. Double worrying! How fun is that? It is just way too boring a subject for me to ponder. Without a wallet transfer to come to this post I would not even notice it. Maybe when it reaches out to touch me I will not even know that either.

And as I said it my first reply - noted fake person, elon musk, is involved in this topic. This really makes me steer clear.

dear @redpossum, @neavvy, @fitinfun

Your conversation made me wonder about something else. Let's assume that technology is already advanced and face recognition is also something common. So your car would know who you are and his AI would allow to estimate value of your life.

Imagine situation where you're about to crash with similar car but the owner of it is being recognized by his own car as a very valuable.

And now those 2 cars could quickly communicate with each other in order to transfer some basic data about drivers/passenger. And both cars would decide on what would happen next.

That's insane ....

I can't imagine the lifestyle you lead that would allow you the time to contemplate such a thing @crypto.piotr. I live in a place of jalopies and concern myself with today's reality as opposed to tomorrow's science fiction. I agree with the insanity part though.

Dear @fitinfun

I can't imagine the lifestyle you lead that would allow you the time to contemplate such a thing

hahaha perhaps I just found your conversation on this topic very interesting :)

Cheers
Piotr

@crypto.piotr this scenario is terrifying but surely possible. People really like evaluating each other. You can even observe this fact here on Steem, everyone has reputation. Users with 30 or 70 are treaten completely different.

Congratulations @neavvy! You have received a vote as a way to thank you for supporting my program.

Thank you for your reply @fitinfun.

Anything Elon Musk says, I would take with a big grain of salt. I feel like he is a manufactured character. I'm pretty sure he will soon be disgraced in any number of ways. I do watch gossip sites that have been fairly reliable in the past and he seems to be falling apart these days.

Interesting, I didn't know about that. I respect him for what he did for technology, but I think that he is personally very frustrated guy. Recently I have heard that he had been publicly thinking about how much time should he minimally spend with his girlfriend per week in order to satisfy her. He brought such insights up, because he wanted to limit the time for relationships as much as it is possible in order to have more time for work.

For that reason I can believe that he used drugs, as he seems to be seriously lacking emotional life.

Yes, and there are a few other ladies reporting odd times with him. One is a called Halsey - I don't know who she is, but she posted a bunch of stuff about him maybe two months ago and it was all perverted.

Also - I do not follow anything about his cars, but apparently a lot of them are sitting out in the desert heat in California and may or my not be finished. I saw some drone footage of that.

I just thought he was creepy from Day One I ever saw him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72