You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Environmental Issues: Grand Canyon 4

in #steemstem5 years ago

It's good to know about these initiatives to preserve important wildlife, and that they seem to be working. I would never blame the Navajo for going ahead with a coal mine at a time when coal was widely used throughout the western world. Now we're all learning about the benefits of the type of non-destructive lifestyle that the Navajo and other tribes lived for centuries, before they were told that the "civilised" type of lifestyle was the best. It's all about balance.
Thanks for presenting such a clear and readable view of this fascinating subject. I hope I'll be able to visit the Grand Canyon some day.

Sort:  

I actually think we are going to end up using 'tribal wisdom' in a lot of our choices going forward. They have been taking their environment into consideration for a long time.

I hope that you can visit the Canyon some day, too. I have a feeling you would like some of the trails such as Bright Angel. Amazing views and geology at your fingertips. Every 100m you go down is 50,000 years in the past :)

Bright Angel sounds wonderful. I've looked it up on Wikipedia, and it seems that the biggest danger from animals is squirrel bites. We have vicious squirrels in Glasgow too, so I should feel quite at home :)

A lot of vertical in the Bright Angel trail, but it's a really well traveled route and very much do able. The perspective from the bottom of the canyon is much different from the top. Not to mention that some of the oldest rocks known to exist live there in the bottom.

Squirrels are not particularly aggressive at the Canyon, I'd think the biggest animal threat on the Bright Angel would be burro poop. A string of burros goes from rim to river and back every day. Lots of tourists take that option.

Aw - I love donkeys! But I'd probably go on foot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69