You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Meaning Of The Hiking Markers - ROMANIA

in #steemstem5 years ago

That's really interesting! We do have some signs on some tracks, but rarely on mountains - usually just on the lower levels. I've never seen avalanche signs, probably because most of our mountains are not high enough to have snow year-round, so the avalanche risk areas change frequently.
I've never seen a cornice warning sign.
Also, this kind of thing can be a controversial subject in Scotland. A couple of months ago I was walking on a mountain after heavy rainfall, and part of a steep path seemed to be dangerously eroded. I walked over it, but I later met a couple who told me they had turned back, as they thought it was too dangerous.
Later on, I mentioned it on a Facebook group for hillwalkers, and a few people laughed at my comments and posted "nanny state" memes, even though I was only mentioning it, to warn people, not demanding action or anything!
I also mentioned it by email to a mountaineering group, and they were really helpful.

Sort:  

Yep, I guess it all depends from a state to another and from a surface to another. It's sad to hear they acted that way when you was just pointing it out but in my opinion your gesture was really a good move and I appreciate it! So sorry some of the people were laughing.

It can be like that on Facebook. Steemians are much more sensible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78