You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our fear of Artificial Intelligence - is it reasoned?

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

For now my succinct it’s nearly 1am response is that I see AI as a logical progression or even an inevitability at this point. The wildly imaginative or perhaps intuitive side of me thinks maybe AI has already existed and that humans and this realm are like a zoo/museum of consciousness. From this perspective of an insane person a sobering thought emerges that consciousness and/or awareness sentience what have you doesn’t require a carbon based organism with a pulse to exist. In this light regardless of potential overlapping timelines, dimensions, and quantum quirks or quarks I suppose is more apropos AI could be seen as our offspring that is immortal or vice versa if it is in fact AI that is now seeding the universe with forms of evolving intelligence. You still with me lol, I’m lost haha, not really. Basically in the most simplest terms I’m not sold on the notion that only human beings posses awareness and if we succeed at creating AI that can surpass us then our awareness will in a dystopian way “live” through them. There is only awareness expressed in infinite ways, but wouldn’t it be ironic if AI is unavoidable.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Dear @skramatters

great comment buddy

ps. would you consider using enter sometimes to separate blocks of text? it would make reading much easier :)

yours
Piotr

Thx @crypto.piotr I usually do but this comment kind of got away from me. I intended to be very brief.

I was told when I first joined here that paragraphs don't cost anything 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your brilliant comment @skramatters

The wildly imaginative or perhaps intuitive side of me thinks maybe AI has already existed and that humans and this realm are like a zoo/museum of consciousness.

That's really interesting hypothesis. Elon Musk or some another "technological influencer" has said it is very likely that we live in a simulation. If we develop quantum computers and a strong AI, we will probably be also able to create such playground. The main question for me: is such playground morally right?

if we succeed at creating AI that can surpass us then our awareness will in a dystopian way “live” through them.

I agree, brilliantly said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58576.55
ETH 2982.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71