The Imperial Moth

in #steemstem6 years ago
The Imperial Moth (Eacles imperialis) is a large moth, with a wingspan of 80–175 mm (​3 1⁄8 and ​6 7⁄8 inches) in adults.This specimen surprised me by landing in my backyard. Thanks to a comment from @sgt-dan about the Imperial Moth on my post about Fall Webworms, I remembered this visitor! Thanks, Sarge!

ImperialMothEacles_imperialis.jpg
• FEMALE IMPERIAL MOTH, PHOTO BY ME •

The moth in the above photo appears to have slightly tattered edges on her right wings, as if she had been attacked by a predator, perhaps a bird or a large insect.

Of course, well-bred ladies should not consort with rakes. Sorry, I just had to do that...

This species has coloring that mimics decaying leaves, which affords it some measure of protection, especially in the autumn. This is particularly useful since the moths enjoy nibbling on the leaves of hardwood trees, such as oaks, elms, and sassafras.

The Imperial Moth has a wide geographical range in the Western Hemisphere — all the way from Argentina to Canada. In North America, the moths appear mostly between the Rocky Mountains eastward to the Atlantic Ocean. Several websites I visited noted their populations have decreased in their northernmost reaches in recent years, however. Reasons given are not certain, but are thought to be due to the use of pesticides, use of particular styles of outdoor commercial lighting, and confusion in reporting similar-appearing species of the Eacles genus.

ThanksForReading.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 University of Florida: Imperial Moth
   2 Wikipedia: (Eacles imperialis)

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug is due to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Beautiful picture of the moth. My sons are obsessed with moths at the moment. Thank you for sharing . <3

That's a big moth and with a nice yellow color. Here I can only see small ones usually brown in color. Maybe out in the mountains there are more. Thanks for sharing about the Imperial moth.

I have never seen an imperial moth. I have always heard that moths don't live that long and now I wonder if that is a myth? )

@hezziebees ~ Not a myth! Some moths, such as the Cecropia and Yucca moths, only live a few days. Others live 6-12 months, and the Luna Moth lives 12 on average. I wasn't able to find lifespan info on the Imperial Moth specifically, but would imagine it would be similar to the 6-12 month range.

Such a beautiful moth, I love that brown on the end of the wings. Nature is truly amazing.

I'm afraid of them) As well as butterflies! One day a butterfly flew to us through the window, and I did not want to go into the room until my husband kicked her out))) Strangely, on the street, if I see a butterfly - I do not react like that ...

Thanks for making me learn something new...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98