You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rapid Portrait Sketching - Mastering Likeness

in #steemstem6 years ago

nice post, @javier.dejuan :> might need to actually provide the likeness' sources to see if the methods work, though? for your students :>

like, how can someone tell that these capture the persons' essence without having a frame of reference to the persons' likeness?

maybe do one off someone famous or sommit, someone people understands the personality of?

Sort:  

Typically, I use this technique when I sketch people passing by, that is with exposure times very short or when I draw from imagination and I want to figure out a strong character personality. Besides, if you use this technique drawing from photo references, I recommend to have different angles of the head, because our brain must understand the overall volume of it. But, yes, to reinforce these ideas, and to convince unfaithful Verbal sketchers, a new post is necessary, I will built it. Theses ideas came to me when I got frustrated sketching portraits , using the verbal technique, and then my inner voice whispers me: "Draw head as a landscape". As a personal suggestion, @veryspider, as you have a very nice and loose hatching style when you draw drapery, and you also feel comfortable with graphic density concept my inner voice would tell you: "Draw heads like dresses". I know this may sound very very invasive, so, please excuse my inner voice meddling XD.
Your obedient servant,
Javier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81