You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our fear of Artificial Intelligence - is it reasoned?

Good morning @neavvy. Wow. What a conversation you have stirred up with this one. I see all the good, amazing people I love to read and engage with are here.

I have had a fear of AI taking over all things in our lives and have done little to stop it. The husband decided to put in those light bulbs where you can tell the computer to turn on a specific light. It has caused more frustration than anything for me. He keeps talking about putting in the thermostat and so on because it will be easier and enable us to save money. So far I am not seeing the benefit to it all. It is just easier to walk 10 feet and flip a switch when I need it!

I am seeing where technology is going and I often worry that it is going to be the end of us. Now you tell me there are AI weapons! Holy mac&chz! Do they not see there is a huge danger to that? Tell AI to decide if a person should be terminated because they are a bad person, doing bad things, what is to keep the thing from deciding we are all bad?! Oh, it is stuff of nightmares in my opinion.

Yes, machines were to assist us, make life better, but there are times when you need to just get off your butt and do things yourself. It's safer that way....
Ren

Sort:  

Thank you for such interesting comment @xcountytravelers

The husband decided to put in those light bulbs where you can tell the computer to turn on a specific light. It has caused more frustration than anything for me.

I am afraid that I am a fan of smart home like your husband haha :) But don't worry, my girlfriend is also frustrated because of those devices, so I suppose that my smart home dreams will not come into existence :)

Yes, machines were to assist us, make life better, but there are times when you need to just get off your butt and do things yourself. It's safer that way...

I fully agree with you. Technology is great, but as its complexity increases, the level of our responsibility must also increase.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72