Bantayan Weekend Escape

in #steemsummit6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180407_105324.jpg

An escape is needed from time to time to keep my sanity. This time, we found it in the shores of one of the World's loveliest Islands: Bantayan.

Our long weekend adventure started at 4 am on a Saturday. We rode a van from Tamiya, Lapu-lapu to Hagnaya Port Terminal. We went early to avoid traffic. It was a lovely 4 hour drive.

Light rain was falling and we were greeted with wide and green sceneries. There's always something special when you travel to new places. The raindrops against the window pane while watching the beautiful mountains and beaches along the way provided me with a special kind of comfort. I silently sat at the back, cuddled in my jacket and travel pillow, just enjoying the ride.

IMG_20180407_060805.jpg My sister falling asleep beside me at the back of the van.

We reached Hagnaya at around 8 or 9 am in the morning. We bought tickets and boarded the ferry to Bantayan Island.

It was supposed to be an hour ride. But we were greeted with huge waves and ended arriving on our destination an hour late. It was lunchtime already. But I don't mind it at all. Not even the least.

The moment I stepped out of the ferry, there she was! Crystal clear waters shining like precious gems with a lovely greenish blue tints. Her shoreline so white and pristine. Bantayan is such a beauty. She's simply mesmerizing. I almost forget we are not at the resort yet, we are still at the port!

We rode a tricycle to Juanita's place where my friend booked our accomodation. There were 30 of us on the trip. The 8 of us shared a cozy room at the attic. It has it's own bath, air-conditioning, and television.

IMG_20180407_104028.jpg

We went out for a quick lunch and went back to our rooms to get some rest.

ExploringBantayan:

The later part of our first day in Bantayan was spent for my friends' surprise proposal. (I will have to write a separate blog for it).

The next day, we rent a bike and explored some more. We went to Kota Beach. The sun was up though weather was not so hot that time. It was just perfect to lay on the sand without worrying about getting sunburns. We took photos and stayed at the beach for hours before heading back to our rooms to check out at 12.

IMG_20180410_003955_487.jpg Photo I took of my sister while in Kota.

Reasons to love Bantayan Island:

  • Fresh and Affordable Food
    The good thing with Bantayan Island is that the locals also benefited from the boom of tourism. You will find a lot of locals selling fresh sea foods almost anywhere. You can even buy a pack of scallops for just Php10.

If you want to cut expenses on food, you can visit the local wet market and buy fresh ingredients. Most accommodations allow you to use their kitchen for cooking too.

  • Everything is accessible

IMG_20180408_093921.jpg
Bantayan is a small paradise. According to a friend, you can rent a bike or a motorbike and explore the island in just one day!

On our second day we opt to rent a bike and enjoy our remaining ours before we head back to the city. Bikes often only cost Php100-300 for 24 hours rent.

You may also book a tricycle for a day tour on different tourist spots.

  • Beautiful white sand beaches almost everywhere.

IMG_20180408_094927.jpg

Remember when I wrote about how I was amazed with Bantayan even at the port?

  • Last but not the least: Really sweet people!
    I have been to a lot of places and what sometimes piss me off are business owners who tries to rip you off with as much money as they could. I never saw this type of people in Bantayan.
    Sure they were eager to earn money, but they do so in a nice and respectful manner.

They are even willing to go to extra lengths to help you!

IMG_20180408_070204~3.jpg

On our second day, we were already running out of time but we wanted to rent a bike. We asked the owner if we could rent it for just an hour. He agreed and gave it to is for just Php30. He even offered to go with us incase we need him. I gave him Php 40 and politely declined because I'm scared to waste his time. I told him I'd just get the change when we come back.

Unfortunately, we had so much fun in the beach and wasn't able to come back as early as promised. I told the owner to keep the just keep the change but he still tried to return it to me. I was even expecting additional charge but he just kindly smiled at us and thanked us.

Link to a small video clip on my insta:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BhZKOeQgKvg/

After we checked out, we took a tricycle to the Port. On our way, I noticed that I left my bracelet which was given to me by a friend from Romania. The driver willingly brought me back to our accommodation after he sent of some of my friends to the port. He even waited for me and brought me back to the port again.

IMG_20180408_093601.jpg Me and my sister.

Other Famous Destinations to visit in Bantayan:

  • Paradise Beach : a secluded beach in bantayan with fine white sand. Perfect for those who doesn't prefer crowded places.

  • Ogtong Cave: Small cave with natural pool

  • Ob-ob Mangrove Ecopark: Mangrove forest you can explore via boat or kayaking.

Going Home:

IMG_20180408_125908.jpg

Time seems to fly so fast when you're having fun.

Two days is not enough to experience this wonderful place. The whole trip ended with a freshly made mango shake at Santa Cafe while waiting to board our ferry. I will be back.

Screenshot_20180410_213909.png

Sort:  

Bantayan Island is one of the amazing islands in PH! I feel so proud that I'm a Filipina because I get the chance to go to these kind of places. Thanks for this informative blog @janicemars. I'm waiting for the next blog you promised about the surprise proposal of your friend. hehehe "Read" you around! :)

Awww thank you so much Nikka! 😍 Yes I will be posting about it soon 💜 I will be following your blogs too!

omg! Can't wait. Thanks janice :)

Such a lovely place. I haven't been there yet and this is on my bucket list. I hope to explore the whole of Philippines haha! The beach seems to have lots of tiny corals and shells.

Yes it does. I felt bad I haven't visited the other attractions. Hope you visit soon. I promise you won't regret it.

Keeping my fingers and toes crossed to hopefully I will be able to visit this soon. Sometimes I feel the "need" to go to such places before it is destroyed.

Awwwwee you are very thoughtful! Yes. Too many careless tourists is harmful. Whichever beach I go, I always cut my swimming time if I see plastics or trash floating. I pick them and throw it at the nearest garbage can. But I can only do so little if I'm alone.

Same thing when we hike. We bring bags to put garbage we saw along the way and dispose of them later on.

Looks like you had a fantastic time! So many beautiful places to see in the PI! Can’t wait too see more!

Indeed! Can't wait to explore more. We are so blessed.

This post has received a 6.38 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by janicemars being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Very nice information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62