You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are bee stings really therapeutic?

in #stemng6 years ago (edited)

I began to question my understanding about the effects of toxins here

The venom in bee stings have been shown to be effective against the progress of arthritis related diseases in rats. It has been revealed that the venom actually worked by inhibiting the secretion of pain and inflammation-inducing compound known as interleukin-1. Melittin which is a significant component of the bee's venom as stated earlier has also been proven to have an anti-inflammatory ability in one of the researches conducted by some South Korean scientists.

From my understanding of toxins and venom, they actually activate the complement system of the body which in turn activate coagulation cascade leading to Disseminated intravascular clotting, fever, inflammation and pain.
I am just surprised seeing that.
Science can just be so funny, things keep changing. I could remember when this definition was so popular

atom is an indestructible particle of an element

Today it has changed due to the advent nuclear irradiation.

Well left for me here, I am tempted to believe but I need a more concrete and convincing evidence. Because the acclaimed therapeutic efficacy of this venom is going contrary to the already established facts and theory about venom and toxins.

melittin substance found in bee venom is been targeted as a potential solution against the Human Immuno Virus (HIV). This is so because the substance has been found to have the capacity to anihilate the virus by creating holes in the coating or its protective shell.

I will agree with this , because since the venom is a foreign substance introduced into the body, the natural thing that happens is the activation of the complement system which is responsible for marking a foreign body or organism in our body for destruction. Once the complement system is activated, they form what is called a membrane attack complex which punctures hole on the invading organism and thus killing it in the process.
This I quite agree with, but the aspect of bee venom inhibiting pain, meeeen....i really need a more convincing evidence.
Anything is possible in science though, because our genetic make up actually differ and this contributes to the different ways in which we react to a drug or foreign substances. In some people it can work while in odas it may not.
So I do not totally disprove the hypothesis, but factual evidences will go a long way to convince me.
Beautiful article @gentleshaid. I enjoyed it

Sort:  

beautiful article

I must say beautiful analysis as well. I really started question my understanding of science when something that can induce so much pain is also been hypothesized as an analgesic. I used hypothesis because most of the experiment involving human trials yielded no positive result. But still, individuals testimonies on the subject is proving the efficacy of the venom. Could be a placebo effect as far as I am concerned.

Could be a placebo effect as far as I am concerned.

Very correct!
Human psychology actually plays a lot of role in healing.
Once the mind is condition to beleive that what we are taking is gonna cure us, it most times work.
This is why in pharmacology there is what is called blinding while administering a drug for treatment especially during clinical trials.

interesting to know. Are you a pharmacist?

Nope...but a yet to be medical practitioner still in incubation, currently in My penultimate year. as long as one is in the medical line, one is bound to study pharmacology (how the drugs interact with human physiologic system). To enable us prescribe drugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81