The Stain of Mordred part 12.

in #story5 years ago

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

The Stain of Mordred. Book 2

The Mage.

George left the Isle of Glass and Avalon, it could be said without direct permission from the Lady and headed for the only gateway that was still able to be opened by anyone other than the Lady. It was the same one through which the Lady had led him through all those years ago. While Avalon waited for the kings return George had decided to try and prevent his return and stop the fall of mankind.

There was several things that struck George when he walked through the gateway into the pre dawn gloom, the first was the smell. It was a smell of decay and staleness, the land too looked faded, as if the colours had drained away in comparison to the vibrant world of Avalon. As he looked around the ancient woodland where the gateway stood he could see it was dying and the signs of disease were everywhere. The leaves of the trees were brown and falling while mould and fungus covered the ground.
He knelt and placed his hand flat onto the ground and sent out his consciousness to search the land to see why the woodland was dying. The first thing he noticed was the absence of wildlife anywhere in the woods, no foxes or badgers, rabbit or birds still lived within the woods. The animals had either died or fled and then he sensed the poisons that had seeped up into the soils.
George searched further down going into the bedrock from where the poisons had come. Bedrock holds memories of millions of years, of the life that had died and made it and this rock had been changed, poisons pumped in, explosions and the stealing of it’s trapped gasses. The poisons had spread through the rock and entered the trapped water that formed the water table. For some reason he didn’t yet understand humanity had foolishly poisoned their own land and water.

Coming back to himself he stood up with a heavy heart and with tears rolling down his cheeks he started heading for the village where he used to live. While he doubted anyone he had known would still be alive he needed to see something he recognised while he gathered his thoughts and began to make plans for saving mankind. The sight of the ancient woodland had left him on the edge of despair already and he had to force himself not to return to the gateway, to Avalon and the Isle of Glass. He knew he would not be able to reopen the gateway from this side so returning would be pointless. His only option was to press on and discover how to stop the stain of Mordred.

The village that George had once called home had grown a great deal with many new houses and shops, not the old village shops he remembered but large shops that sold everything you could think of yet probably didn’t need. It seemed to him people gathered many things that they didn’t need and cluttered up their lives this way with useless things.
The one constant he found was the church and he headed into the churchyard and sat down on one of the benches. Here there was peace and a sense of serenity as he gazed across the old gravestones and saw signs of wildlife so missing from the woods. Squirrels ran between the stone and large doves swooped between the trees, he was so busy watching this he didn’t notice the woman as she approached.
“Are you waiting for the shelter to open?” she asked making him jump a little.
George looked up to where she was standing just down the path and noticed the priests collar around her neck, during his time in Avalon he had gotten used to women being in prominent places within their religion and was pleased to see the same had happened in the world outside the mists.
“I’m sorry, the shelter?” he asked not understanding her question.
“No, I’m sorry for presuming, it’s just that I don’t recognise you and your clothing looks a little worn. I thought you were waiting for the homeless shelter to open.” she said, indicating with her hand if she could sit on the bench beside George.
“I’m just passing through and felt the need for a bit of peace, the village is a little too busy for me.” George replied moving over slightly for her to sit. He was wearing the clothes he had worn the day he had entered Avalon that Bedivere had kept and given back to him before he left. While clean they were not in the best condition.
“It’s not often our village is called busy, well apart from the traffic that passes through with those new fracking sites they set up.” the woman said, showing her disapproval for the traffic and fracking sites as she sat down.
George had already noticed how common motor vehicles had become and how they seemed to be driving around in an endless line.
“Are you the vicar of the church here?” George asked.
“Yes, Reverend Karen, and you?” she asked holding out her hand.
“George, I’m just passing through on my way to Glastonbury.” he replied taking her hand and giving it a shake.
“Well George, I was just heading back to the vicarage for some lunch. If you’ve not eaten you’re welcome to join me.” Reverend Karen said with a smile.

To be continued.
This isn't a finished story and I'm still working on editing it as I post to steemit.

Sort:  

It must be heartbreaking to see the death forest in front of your eyes so I understand his tears. At least he found out that the mankind is still existing even though it had changed so much over the years. Coming to your home and not recognizing it must be a shock. At least he found a shelter inside of the church with a kind reverend. Too bad for him that he looks like homeless though :) It's nice from her to invite him for a lunch. I'm looking forward what she will tell him about the place and the changed that they all went through. And I hope he will be able to save them all. I'm looking forward to the continuation :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thank you, I enjoyed writing this story and I'm sharing it before It's fully finished to try and get feedback on it.

Interesting story, I feel a slight undertone of a secondary message besides the pleasure of reading. When you've been gone for a while things seem to have changed so much. Honestly, in real life, it doesn't usually take that long.
At least the church was welcoming and serene, the shock he felt seemed to drain him a bit.
Great story and congrats on that curie vote those are always nice.

I thought you had spellcheck?

I do, it's been doing weird stuff lately. I'll make a correction and when I hit post it changes back... It's weird and annoying. Where ya been the last week or two?....

me? where you been the last month? lol.

You've slowed a bit yourself... It has been a rough month, and last week took the cake. This week has been a bit better though. Last week was the cherry on top of an insane 2-month stretch. I was beginning to wonder what was going on.

I'll just expand on last week.

Monday sucked with work. Then I screwed up and sent $250 in ERC20 tokens to the wrong address. I copied the wrong ETH address and sent them to my Coinbase ETH wallet. Coinbase does not support ERC20 tokens, they are sitting in the wallet but I cannot access them and Coinbase will not give me access to the private key, so I could use a block explorer to send them to the correct address.

Tuesday my daughter wrecked her car, $5700 worth and 3 weeks to get the parts. (stupid import) She hit a car parked in the road on the other side of a small hill. Busted the front end all up, radiator, AC coil trashed, I had to drive an hour to pick her up.

Wednesday she was driving my car taking her boyfriend home and blew a tire in the middle of town, I'm talking shredded, holes in the sidewalls etc. The rest had about 15k left so I ended up replacing all 4.

Thursday my other daughter was riding with her boyfriend when his car starts to shake and swerves off the road on a straight away. They jump the ditch up a bank and spin around a few times, miss a telephone pole and brick mailbox by about 3 feet. Totals his car, the good this is a sheriff was coming from the other direction and saw it happen. Tie rod end broke...

Friday my daughter's jeep won't start, battery went bad. She jumped it off once but got stranded again. Once I get my car back from my other daughter. I drive over, buy a battery go to change it and realize that my son has removed a large portion of my tools from that toolbox...

Saturday, I get a call from a contractor I have been doing a lot of work for. He says something happened with a deposit....(weird never calls on Saturday) Then calls back a bit later(crying I might add) to tell me that he lied, that he has used the money to pay back taxes and keep his house and a few other things. I knew something was not right and had been bugging him to get paid, but for some reason the hospitals that paid fairly well had all of the sudden stopped paying. So basically he's looking at bankruptcy and can't pay me for the work I've been doing for the last 3-4 months, to the tune of about 30K.

Sunday morning the contractor calls me back to ask me to pray for his mother who is dying and that he will probably be out of touch for a few days. She passed Monday morning, and he's been pretty much silent since.

The good thing is no one was seriously hurt, just a bit sore and a busted lip. Then there is at least one small payment left on one contract I was working on, so if I can talk them into sending the payment to me instead of him it might be a plus... (doesn't sound like they can because of the contract)

sir coins and chains..oh my gosh! what a horrible couple of weeks. that is a string of bad luck or attacks by the enemy that one just doesn't see very often, like whatever can go wrong WILL go wrong!

I'm so sorry to hear about all that..and it would have been bearable without the loss of all that contract money!

I'll be praying that you recover fast and the God opens better contracts for you.

I appreciate that. It's all good though, it was only money and things. They make more of both every day.

My wife and I both felt like it was attacks, we must have made someone mad, or needed a distraction. I don't know it was just weird all the way around...

howdy again sir coinsandchains! well sir, lets hope it was a one-time thing.
Any brilliant plans on how to make money on steemit? lol.

Howdy there alienbutt! Hey I like this story and its well written to show the emotions of George in this time of heartache but it looks like the church lady may be able to help him.
Well written and a well deserved curie. This is only partly written, how far along are you with the story?

I've all the story written, just working through it to edit and tweek a few bits.

Hi alienbutt,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Lucky for me to run into a chapter that allows me to get an idea about what the story is about (at least part of it) and not feel like I'm jumping in the dark. I think it's because of your prose, it's quite clear and direct (which is always appreciated by the common readers). That kind of thing motivates you to read the previous chapters (or the next ones) without feeling it as an obligation to be able to understand everything.

Cheers!

Thank you, I try to just write a story in an easy to read way. I don't class myself as an author even though I've been published, I just try to tell a story and think of myself as a story teller.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @alienbutt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That it's a shame to end their water reservoirs.

I am pleased that you have put the giant in a kind and loving way the peace and detailer of nature.

I hope to see the story finished, it reads and looks very good ;)

thank you for sharing

greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95