You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales from an Ambulance: Episode 2 - E.R.

in #story6 years ago

Amazing write-up. As someone who has worked in medical fields I could appreciate

Dear karma, remember this moment.

It DOES require an awful lot of empathy to work these jobs, especially the ER room. The emotional exhaustion at the end of the day can be as intense as the physical.
Very, very well written. You packed a lot of emotion, astute observations, and vivid imagery into this.

Sort:  

Oh that’s right, you were a navy Corpsman! For some reason I keep thinking you were a Marine.

Thank you for the kind feedback! I’m always kind of torn about sharing this sort of stuff, since it’s coming from my observations of someone else’s infinitely worse day. But I try to be respectful of their stories and protective of their identities so I guess I’ll continue?

I think that the Curie vote is a good indicator that your observations are greatly appreciated and I didn't feel as if there was any privacy breech, especially if you were there mostly as an observer, not an employee. If you became employed by the hospital that would be a different situation, and you might want to consider looking in to the legality of sharing the inner workings of their facility while being an employee.
I got my EMT-B before I separated from the military and did my ambulance ride-alongs. However, in California the jobs available to someone with an EMT-B have a lot of competition, it doesn't really thin out until you get Paramedic. It looks good on a resume though and if you are considering joining a fire department, it sometimes is required.

Yeah it’s an over saturated pool of workers here as well. When I volunteered with the town I’m with now, there were other people who were just there to get experience so they could go apply for a full time EMT position with a commercial company. Crazy. But I guess that’s what happens in a decently paid field with a mere 3 month long barrier to entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89