The Eye Chapter 2

in #story5 years ago

Previous chapter:
https://steemit.com/horror/@frizzy/the-eye-maybe-a-first-chapter-maybe-not-either-way-some-halloween-fun
((Watch for an edited and probably expanded version of the previous chapter!))

The Eye Chapter 2

I awoke in the early morning with sunlight streaming through the window by the bed. The memory of the alleged paranormal activity crashed in upon this realization, making my skin clammy and my body tense. I shook my head. ‘Couldn’t have been real. I’m just cracking up. Yeah. Gotta be it.’ I told myself, rising shakily to my feet.

I traveled down the hall to the bathroom to relieve myself, and then brushed my teeth. Halfway through brushing my teeth I glanced into the mirror and dropped my toothbrush. I had been in the process of washing my front teeth, so my mouth didn’t even hold it for me. It clattered into the sink, splashing toothpaste on the mirror and counter.
On my face was what appeared to be three drops of dried blood, just to the side of my blue left eye. I stared at them for a second, and then snapped my eyes shut. Slowly, carefully, I put my hand to my stubbled jaw. Then I probed upward, slowly moving up to the drips. My face felt clean. Or, well, clear of blood at least. I opened my eyes.

I studied my face with my hand upon it. My eyes were surrounded in dark circles, and my skin looked… old. My curly dark hair was getting long again, which pleased me, but I noticed that it needed attention. I sighed and dropped my hand. The drops were still there. I screamed. No one was there to hear, but I thought I heard laughter as the last echoed faded. I closed my eyes again, prayed that I was just going crazy, and moved over to the shower. I opened my eyes and reached down, grasping the control knob. A quick turn brought the spray to life, and I disrobed. I laid my hand on my chest, feeling the subtle lines of my tattoo prickled up. A few minutes later the water was hot enough, so I stepped into it, pulling the curtain closed.

For a long time I just stood there, hoping the water would wash all of these crazy occurrences from my mind. Or, mayhap wash my mind clear of this crazy that seems to have grabbed hold of me. After a while I sighed and began to legitimately bathe. I squeezed shampoo into my hand, lathered, and rubbed it into my hair. The hair on the back of my neck pricked up. I shivered, despite the heat of the water. I rinsed, and then did the same with the conditioner. I stepped out of the water and lathered a washcloth with body wash. As I put the washcloth to my face, I felt… watched. This is not a comfortable feeling for a naked man that lives alone. There was only one thing to do in this compromised position. I continued to scrub my body. I heard… something. Feet, I think. Little feet. My eyes were already closed, but I held them tighter. My skin covered with suds, I stepped back into the stream of water.

It was freezing! I yelped and jumped out of the water. I then wiped the soap from my face and peered at the faucet control. It was still set to the red section of the display. I put my hand back into the water, tentatively. The water was warm, and warming. I stepped back in, and tried to rinse as swiftly as possible. My face was soon cleared of soap, and then I positioned myself to rinse my hair and back at the same time. Suddenly, the water was scalding. I leapt forward again. I spun and looked back… and the faucet control was sitting on the floor of the shower, becoming more obscured by steam by the second.

‘How?’ I questioned, a tremor-like chill running down my spine. The steam continued to fill the shower, and every nerve within my body seemed to shriek at me to run. I was paralyzed with fear, however, and unable to move. I heard a long, slow scraping, and the stream of water reduced in pressure, and then guttered out until it was merely drips. Steam wafted before me, and I saw a hulking shape looming within it. Red eyes gradually glowed in the misty steam as they opened, and hot breath churned the steam as a thick, branch-like arm reached towards me. The figure was humanoid, but with additional odd angles, like spikes or large scales. I fell back against the wall of the shower, with nowhere to run as the gargantuan figure grabbed me by the throat with calloused hands tipped with vicious, black claws.

Sort:  

A great continuation from the first chapter. I guess the ghost wouldn't just leave him alone.
                     
Congratulations on your second curie vote. Stay active and engaged ^_^.

Hah, Im just going thru the curie upvoted posts, sadly my jiu jitsu practice starts in 30 mins and I can't read both chapters. So I just give u upvote and tell you congratz :)) You're pretty brave for going with posting without pictures. It's hard to attract people like that from my experience.

I started a fantasy story on here. Each chapter was a post, and I drew a map to go with it. But I think everybody thought I was just spamming, because I put the map at the top of each post... But thanks for the support!

Oh I used to do the same..put the same picture on some specific series of posts. Then some curation group members told me they don't like it and can't award me upvotes. Anyway, congratz to urs :)

Hi frizzy,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This probably wasn't the best thing for me to read right before going to bed hahaha but very well done. I also happened to just step out of the shower so now I'm feeling really warm and cozy in my hotel room 😂

Very nicely written. Much to my dismay I can completely visualize what you wrote. I haven't had the opportunity to read Chapter 1 yet but I think I'll save it for another day. Key word day. Middle of the day. Lots of sunshine.

Hahaha I don't handle scary very well and this was just that. Scary! But I enjoyed it none the less. I've had those feelings myself, being in my apartment alone and thinking you hear something in the other room. Luckily it was always in my head but still, I understand the uncomfortable feeling.

Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @frizzy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I read the first chapter to understand this one better.. and let me tell you that I would do better without reading it :D I can't stand description of 'people' who are missing something.. and the blood dripping out of the place where her eye used to be sounds too scary to me :D

The chapter two is more relaxed. It is still creepy but not as much as the first one :)

I can't wait to read Chapter 3 and see what will happen to him. I like how you described the last part with steam. I enjoy your creativity and situation in which you place your character. All is very well described and catchy. It makes you want to read more and more :)

Thank you for sharing! It is a great story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73