Life Is Not Fair (Original 50 Words Story)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

stillborn-2222602_1280.jpg

Mary grunted as she lifted the basket of clothes off the floor. She wiped off a lone tear that surfaced when she saw the pink sock.

"No," She thought to herself, "Everything has to go"

She put the sign outside.

For sale. Babies' clothes; never used

This is my entry for @miniature-tiger's ongoing 50 Word Short Story Prompt

Let me know what you think in the comment section below.

pixabay provided the picture

EDIT: The closing line is a spin from something I got while reading on the internet a while back. The original statement is "For sale: baby shoes, never worn". Although traditionally attributed to Ernest Hemingway, there is no real proof to back that up.

Sort:  

Hmmmmmmm... Nice concoction of words...

Thanks for your kind words

Blessings

This is just plagiarism from a famous short by Ernest Hemmingway. The only good line in this is copied. You should be flagged.

Way to go, Steemit. 17 votes for derivative, copied content.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/For_sale:_baby_shoes,_never_worn

Good post 👍👌, Please upvote back me, @hazmisyahputra, thank you.

@iamdegray writes so well...thumbs up!

Thanks for your kind words

Hope to see you around

Oh sure...24th at the meet up

Nah

I met my blog.

I won't be at the meet-up

I have to attend a conference in abeokuta

You got a 7.69% upvote as a Recovery Shot from @isotonic, currently working as a funding tool, courtesy of @iamthegray!

  • Image from pngtree.com

@isotonic is the Bid Bot of the @runningproject community.
Earnings obtained by this bot, after paying to the delegators, are fully used to increase the SP of the @runningproject from which all affiliated members are benefited.
Check @runningproject posts in order to know further about.

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

You got a 1.78% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @iamthegray!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

It created an emotional draw and me wanting more wondering what had happened. Great job! That is something that is hard to do with only 50 words.

Thanks a lot for your response and commendation.

I must confess that, while the story is mine, the original idea isn't. I read a story on something similar probably late last year and decided to spin the idea to my taste.

Thanks for stopping by

Hope to see you around

Even the most original ideas these days are really not that original. I hope to see you around again in the fiftywords. I stop by in the tag from time to time to pay my respects and show my support of such a wonderful tag. I am really glad it was revived again.

Even the most original ideas these days are really not that original.

(smiles broadly)

That's very reassuring.

Thanks a lot

And yes, I'll be around for fiftywords.

Thanks for your kind words

I disagree. You're just taking Hemmingway's famous line. Be original. This is arguably just plagiarism.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/For_sale:_baby_shoes,_never_worn

In that case, I must apologize. I never said the idea was mine. I knew I had read it somewhere. I only gave it a new spin.

I'm sorry. I didn't know it amounted to plagiarism.

idk that it does amount to plagiarism, but its really close. The line itself is famous.

As a writer, if you actually care about your content, you should avoid just copying from other work. You're using what's considered the most famous 6 word short story as your 'punch line'.

It's basically saying, "hey, I can't write. Here's Hemingway."

If you do care about developing as a writer, use original content. This is a 50 word flash fiction. 12% of it is a line you took from someone else.

If you do care about developing as a writer, use original content.

Sir, I can assure you that this is a first time thing. You may go through my blog and rum a plagiarism check but I never copy other people's work.

In fact when I was being praised for the story, I was quick to point out that the idea isn't mine. I simply added a spin to it.

I've noted your comments and have made the necessary resolves to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Thanks for stopping by. I wish we had met under much pleasant circumstances

That's tragic. Child loss is impossibly hard and a road I hope no parent has to navigate. Your 50 words story helps to shine a light on this sore subject. Well done.

Thanks a lot @ablaze

Having almost lost a brother, I know how unbearable the loss can be.

It's nice to have you around

Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97