The Psychology of Haunted House Stories

in #story5 years ago

38-Real-Haunted-Houses-13.jpg
Photo from theplacesyoullsee.com

My favorite horror sub-genre for both books and movies is the haunted house story.

In books, some of my most loved haunted house tales include The Turn of the Screw by Henry James, The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson, The House Next Door by Anne Rivers Siddons, Julia by Peter Straub, Burnt Offerings by Robert Marasco, the H.R. Wakefield story The Red Lodge, and of course, The Shining by Stephen King. Many of my favorite horror movies are based on those books, such as The Innocents (1961), The Haunting (1963), The Haunting of Julia (1977), The Shining (1980) and Burnt Offerings, (1976).

I’ve been considering why haunted house tales resonate so strongly with many people and I’ve come up with two primary thoughts:

Home Sweet Home.

First, they hit us where we live. Literally. Haunted house tales address the primal human need of shelter. What could be more terrifying than a home that isn’t safe for human habitation, the very structure that is supposed to be our guarantor of warmth and security? Significantly, most haunted house tales begin with the classic trope of an individual or family taking up what they think will be a permanent residence in the unsafe quarters, only to find out it’s not what they think it is. A few tales do focus on temporary residencies, such as Hill House, its imitator The Legacy of Hell House by Richard Matheson, and of course, The Shining, but most haunted house victims are in it for the long haul. Or so they think. (For myself, I think one of the reasons why I love the genre so much is because I’m very much a homebody, with a tendancy for making strong attachments to places and things, so the fear of having an unsafe home is probably greater for me than for a travel-lover or someone who moves every two years. )

If These Walls Could Talk.

Second, a home by its nature is the place where we think we can be our “true selves”, safe from the prying eyes of a disapproving public. Our home witnesses both the worst and the best of human nature. How easy is it to imagine that a house—particularly an old one—has been silently absorbing or somehow recording the worst of human behavior over the march of time, and then playing our own ugliness back to us when we least expect it? Very easy.

Examples of the Two Approaches.

The most famous haunted house stories seem to address either, or both, of those two fears. In Hill House, The House Next Door, Burnt Offerings and of course The Shining, the “bad place” is a living thing that can think and act for itself. Whatever ghosts residing within are just weapons that the bad place uses to weaken and terrify the new potential victims.

In The House Next Door and Burnt Offerings, there aren’t even any ghosts at all: the evil house acts directly against its victims without bothering to employ any ghostly middlemen. As Shirley Jackson said of Hill House, some houses are just born bad. Anne Rivers Siddons memorably took that idea and ran with it in The House Next Door, in which a new, modern house is evil because the architect who created it was descended from a brutal murderer, and somehow transported his “bad blood” into his creation.

In the more traditional haunted house stories, by contrast, the house isn’t alive, it’s just a silent recorder of the ghastly deeds that were carried out within its walls, or ghosts are tethered to the house by a need for revenge or an unwillingness to move on to the other side. This category would include The Turn of the Screw, The Red Lodge, Straub’s Julia, and The Stone Tape, a nifty little low-budget British thriller from the early 70s directed by Nigel Kneale, the director of Quartermass and the Pit. In The Stone Tape, the idea of the house as a recorder of evil deeds is presented literally. The cellar of the “haunted” house is built with a rare type of stone that can record video of human interactions, and the “hauntings” are simply the stone replaying footage of an old murder over and over again. In Julia, the house is haunted by an evil child named Olivia, who was murdered by her own mother, and whose malevolent spirit is reawakened when Julia, another mother who killed her daughter, moves into it. In Turn of the Screw, two deceased servants are (allegedly) tethered not exactly to the house itself, but to the two children who live in it.

Today, the haunted tale has a long list of tropes and props that are by now very familiar to readers and viewers. There’s the locked room with no key; the haunted basement/cellar/attic; the mirrors that reflect ghosts; the cask of letters and mementos left behind (often a music box); the eerie spectre who haunts the garden or nearby woods; the faucet that drips blood or nasty water; the door that won’t stay closed (or open); the face at the window; the creepy servants or locals who know more than they are willing to say. These conventions are so well-worn that it’s often now hard to find a haunted house tale that seems original.

In my novella/long short story, The Drowning Game, (available on Amazon Kindle), to be different, I wrote about a haunted swimming pool. But I still had to add in things that make a good haunted house tale—a creepy old house; a locked case full of strange objects (instead of the proverbial locked room); a bathtub full of something horrible; windows that look like eyes.

There’s only so much you can do with a swimming pool.

Sort:  

Absolutely lovely breakdown/analysis of haunted house literature. I think you're spot-on with the idea that home is the one place where we should always feel safe, especially considering it's often where we're our most vulnerable: bathing, sleeping, sitting on the toilet...

Bad enough when you get a situation where the house is besieged by outside forces like zombies in Night of the Living Dead or oxygen-deprived, reptilian-brained terrorists in John Russo's Inhuman, but it's ten thousand times worse when the calls, so to speak, are coming from inside the house.


Speaking of haunted house stories, I just acquired a copy of Ken Eulo's The Brownstone from 1980. Upon heading to my Goodreads page to add it to my list of 'Want to Read' books, I stumbled across this review by Grady Hendrix, and just about died laughing:

In an interview, author Ken Eulo said, "One day, I read The Amityville Horror, and I thought to myself “Oh Christ, I could do this in my sleep.” And so he did. In his sleep.

By all rights, that should dissuade me from wanting to read it, and yet I find myself moving it to the top of the pile. There's something wrong with me. :D

Hey thanks for the nice comments zorker! I don't know The Brownstone but now I'll check it out. Maybe it's not so bad--King reportedly wrote Cujo while in a coke-fueled haze and has no memory of writing it.

LOL... the stereotypical black goo coming out of the faucet. Getting stuck to the drain at the bottom of a pool is pretty scary...
You pulled out some great books in this one, it's been 20+ years since I read The Red Lodge. My personal opinion, I think King used it for inspiration for some of The Shining. I've never really been a huge King fan. Interestingly, I actually like the books he wrote as Bachman better than most of what he wrote under King.
I also really enjoyed Burnt Offerings, I had an old house like that one time, I always felt like it was sucking the life out of me. It was working me to death keeping up with it. We called it the money pit...

I like his Bachman books too. Thinner especially and The Long Walk.

Hey @janenightshade, i love how you review and analysis of the haunted house stories by different writers. And I couldn't agree with you more on your perception. Sometimes, I do believe house also has memory, it absorbed all the energy, memory and behavior of people so stay there. if the house longtime ago stayed by a killer or murderer, it would absorb the bad energy and it would release the memory to whoever stay there.

Now, I interested to find out on your new story about haunted swimming pool. It must be interesting and scary after seen how you analyst the haunted house.

Haunted house stories - just the name makes me shiver. The house itself directly acts against its victims. Well, I am happy that my house is a nice peaceful fellow who wouldn't hurt a fly :)

Great analysis of those stories! However if I would read them, I think I would never get my beauty sleep anymore :)

I would like to hope that 'there is only so much you can do with a swimming pool' would be referring to swimming only :D

I meant in a horror capacity. There's not much you can do to them to make them creepy.

You did state the obvious things I took for granted. This review has expressed the right words to coincide with my observation on how the haunted house trope works. I think you covered all of the function and with amazing attention to detail.

I'm a fan of horror but the haunted house type of story isn't my cup of tea. But still, if it's horror, it's worth the read especially when the post is as insightful as this one. :D

Hi janenightshade,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

That's great, thank you so much!

Congratulations @janenightshade! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haha haunted house stories are literally the worst genre for me from all the movies :D I'm such a pussy when it comes to this haha :D I cant even watch trailers of horrors during the daylight :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01