You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of Haunted House Stories

in #story6 years ago

Absolutely lovely breakdown/analysis of haunted house literature. I think you're spot-on with the idea that home is the one place where we should always feel safe, especially considering it's often where we're our most vulnerable: bathing, sleeping, sitting on the toilet...

Bad enough when you get a situation where the house is besieged by outside forces like zombies in Night of the Living Dead or oxygen-deprived, reptilian-brained terrorists in John Russo's Inhuman, but it's ten thousand times worse when the calls, so to speak, are coming from inside the house.


Speaking of haunted house stories, I just acquired a copy of Ken Eulo's The Brownstone from 1980. Upon heading to my Goodreads page to add it to my list of 'Want to Read' books, I stumbled across this review by Grady Hendrix, and just about died laughing:

In an interview, author Ken Eulo said, "One day, I read The Amityville Horror, and I thought to myself “Oh Christ, I could do this in my sleep.” And so he did. In his sleep.

By all rights, that should dissuade me from wanting to read it, and yet I find myself moving it to the top of the pile. There's something wrong with me. :D

Sort:  

Hey thanks for the nice comments zorker! I don't know The Brownstone but now I'll check it out. Maybe it's not so bad--King reportedly wrote Cujo while in a coke-fueled haze and has no memory of writing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86