THE HIGHWAY ROBBERY

in #story6 years ago

It was a beautiful morning I woke up as early as 4 a.m cause I was traveling back to school (University of Port Harcourt) I was so excited, cause I was going to be reunited with my friends. My dad drove me to the park where I'd board a bus going to Port Harcourt. But something changed he didn't take me to my usual park he took me to an entirely different place, I asked him why, then he said that our usual park was too expensive that his friends adviced him to go to that park because it was cheaper, well I couldn't argue with him cause I know it's not easy being a father. As soon as I got out of the car I took a glance at the park and discovered that there was no organisation there the whole place was scattered nobody cared, some drivers fighting passengers, it was all messy I didn't like the place but I still didn't tell my dad because I didn't want to hurt his feelings so I went with the flow and bought ticket to board the bus and as usual we prayed before leaving and for some reason I was crying.
The journey began smoothly I at beside a mother and her little baby he was really cute. I played with him all the time. When the mother was about to sleep she handed me the baby to carry. I really enjoyed it, middle of the journey I realized that I was crying cause I missed my dad, mom and my last born uju she's my best friend then I just couldn't help but to breakdown more I cried like a 3 year old baby who didn't get what he wanted for Christmas. Then I slept off cuddling the baby.
"What is the meaning of this!" I kept hearing that voice in my head until I woke up, it was a lady sitting at the front beside the driver the bus broke down in the middle of nowhere everyone in the bus was screaming some where raining insults on the driver, most of them were loathing the moment they stepped into the park and swore to never board it ever again. I immediately called my dad he asked me to calm down that I'd be alright I believed him, I then prayed and fell asleep.
I woke up around 5 p.m we where still there I was scared and worried the driver did all sort of things to the bus it didn't work I was really worried he then asked all the passengers to come down from the bus and emptied it, I wasn't paying attention cause I was scared, but I know he entered under the bus and pulled some strings and vwalla the bus started I was very happy. The driver drove at top speed cause we were really far behind.
It was around 9p.m we were heading into the River Niger bridge, it a happened so fast, some armed men surrounded our bus and asked us to bring our valuables or they'll kill us the woman beside me quickly grabbed her baby and shoved a stack of money in the baby diaper I was so afraid I cried I was angry, honestly I didn't know what to feel. I handed them my phone and my money they didn't search all the big bags they judt focused on handbags and wallets. All the passengers handed all our valuable items to the robbers but they didn't still go one of the robbers kept screaming "give me all your valuables or I would shoot you", all the passengers were crying and screaming "please we have given you all you've asked, dont kill us we beg you". The robber said for the last time "give me all your valuables", nobody moved he walked up to the woman sitting beside me he searched her, he found nothing so he left, it was like something kept saying there's money with that woman so we walked up to the woman and asked told her "Madam I know you're hiding money bring it out now" she said I swear I'm not hiding anything the robber took the child and lifted him he put his hand in the diapers and he threw the baby so hard to the ground that as soon as he head touched the ground he broke his neck and died the woman cried and cried but it was too late the robbers drove away and people kept saying Madam if you have handed them the money this child would still be alive. It was so sad. we got to Port Harcourt around 3a.m we shared our condolences and the driver drove us to our various homes because we had no money to board a taxi to take us home.
LESSON: No amount of money is worth risking a person's life for.
image image source

Sort:  

Wow
Is this a true life story?
If it is, then I must say it really a tragic one

No amount of money is worth risking a person's life for.

This is really true, I remember when I was robbed at my residence last year when my phone and laptop was taken, I had thought I would never get back on my feet but I learnt a great lesson from that experience, in life material things come and go, but life can never be replaced once lost.

I fear highway robbers seriously. I once had a terrible encounter from asaba to portharcourt. Its never a pleasant experience. Well, thankGod for your life.

@kenechukwu2 please use paragraphs next time. Beautiful write up.

Oh my God... This guys are really wicked indeed, they never wants to eat from their earning but never the less.

nobody moved he walked up to the woman sitting beside me he searched her, he found nothing so he left, it was like something kept saying there's money with that woman so we walked up to the woman and asked told her "Madam I know you're hiding money bring it out now" she said I swear I'm not hiding anything the robber took the child and lifted him he put his hand in the diapers and he threw the baby so hard to the ground that as soon as he head touched the ground he broke his neck and died.

The woman wouldn't had claimed to be the smartest, she would had submitted and keep the life of her baby...

There is nothing like smartness in the face of gun. How i wish th woman realized this.
May God continue to keep us.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kenechukwu2 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hmmmmm....God will continue to save us o, i hate the pathetic shock of robbery in my life

What a touching story. Glad you are safe.

Try to space and use paragraph next time. Good one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99