I’ll Fly Away

in #story6 years ago (edited)

02B65E5B-F4E8-46D7-86B0-855DFBB923D3.jpeg

I often feel like a stranger in my own life. Like I’m not me. I’m not sure who I am or if I’m truly here.

I have this theory that I’ve died. Many, many times. In multiple dimensions. I can even pinpoint moments when I suspect I’ve split. When a glitch occurred and I went on simultaneously in numerous directions. But of course the me I still am is only fully aware of the path that I’m still on.

Sometimes I feel as if I’m visiting my other selves in my dreams. Or maybe this is the dream. Maybe I’m really not this me at all. And maybe my impulse to tightly close my eyes and fly away is my real life calling me home.

On days like today, I’m overwhelming tempted to attempt to do so. If only I consciously remembered how.


Once when I was six, I was walking home from school. A day like any other. The same route; there was only one to take. A straight shot down one main drive which led to a cul de sac at the end of the line. I’d take a right on Sussex Court and at the very center of this winding, spiraling, suburban dream - just outside of the shiny new subdivision - was the misplaced old Victorian farmhouse where my family lived.

On this day I walked the nearly 30 minutes to the place where Sussex Court was supposed to be. But it wasn’t there. There was nowhere to turn right, just before Dundee Road; the busy, congested road that dissolved this middle class fantasy into another reality. The road on which my home was technically situated...deep in a little patch of forest buffering the two worlds from one another.

So I kept walking. Into a noisy, bustling construction site that wasn’t there when I’d left that morning. I began to panic, the sensation of tears welling up in my eyes, a sharp sting enveloping my brain and stealing my breath. I had no idea where I was. I only knew that it wasn’t possible to be there.

In the midst of a sea of yellow-hatted blurry men rythymically working in perpetual motion, I found a solitary, stationary one. He was inhumanly tall, his hat was in focus, and his pulsating left hand held tightly to a clipboard.

“Little girl,” he boomed in an imposing bravado as his foreboding black eyes systematically bounced over his notes, “You can’t be here.”

I tried to explain to him that my street was missing but he wouldn’t listen. He just kept repeating over and over, “You can’t be here.”

I began to bawl uncontrollably. And he asked if I was lost.

“No. I’m. Not. Lost,” I gulped, “My entire street is lost. It’s supposed to be right here.”

“Maybe you made a wrong turn,” said the man as we both looked back down the long, lone, straight, turnless road I’d walked to arrive to this impossible place and I saw it in his eyes. He knew as well as I did that his words could not be true.

“Look,” he said, “Why don’t you walk back...all the way to where you started and try again.”

It seemed the only reasonable option to us both. And so I did.


After a minute or two I felt the air change - the world shift - as I re-emerged into the familiar atmosphere in which I lived. It smelled right. Sounded normal. And I wanted to turn around. To see if my street had reappeared. But I didn’t dare. Instead, I took large deliberate steps punctuated by deep inhalations and deeper exhalations. All the way back to the front door of my school.

I gracefully pivoted on the balls of my feet, took a beat, a deep breath, and retraced the well-worn path home with exaggerated elephant steps - throwing all of my weight, every ounce of my intention, into each and every one - all the way back to Sussex Court.

And this time it was there.


1A5AFDE7-BC66-4934-9815-2FBFD6C8546E.jpeg

When I burst into my house, I was greeted by the antique clock on the wall just to the left of the kitchen door. It confirmed almost two lost hours. As did my angry mother. I was in big trouble for being so late and my tall tale wasn’t helping matters. I was sent to my room until dinner and eventually sentenced to a week's punishment for being late and refusing to confess the truth of my whereabouts.

Everything was in place, predictable, just as I’d left it. Everything, that is, except for me. I felt fragmented. I wasn’t quite the same and I knew I’d never be again.

It turned out that there was construction about a quarter mile to the left of the street on which I walked every day. A small townhouse community was expanding. My parents insisted that I must have accidentally walked past Sussex Court, turned the opposite direction on Dundee Road - which didn’t even have a sidewalk - and wandered several extra blocks into that construction site. I knew I had not. But there was no use arguing.

The next day at school I befriended a girl who lived in those townhouses. I got myself invited over just so that I could see it for myself. Just so that I could confirm that I’d never been there before. I had not.


Weeks passed. Months. Even years. At first any time I’d bring up the incident, my parents would tell me I was an amazing little actress to hold so tightly to my story. But eventually they tried to convince me - and subsequently themselves - that I’d simply dreamt the whole thing.

I’ll never truly know what really happened that day. At least not in this lifetime. And that’s okay. But the one thing I’m certain of is this: that was the day I learned that I have the power to fly away.

Sort:  

Resteemed by the MAP-AAKOM community and upvoted by @rycharde

Many thanks🙏🏻 Much appreciated!

Up vote and resteem yes @outrayjust

Thank you for sharing it. 🙏🏻

you are welcome, friend

That is a beautiful story ! And some wonderful shots.

Thank you. 🙏🏻

yes I am like that too friend. I often feel like a stranger in my own life. Like I'm not me. I'm not sure who I am or whether I'm really here. if the saying goes though live a thousand years if not pray what's the point. we must ask the power.

Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts.

yes friends.

Maybe you traveled in time? Was this a real experience or fiction? It's a good either way, right?

This was real. One of several intensely strange experiences I had as a child growing up in that house. And the clock pictured is the one in the story. I inherited it. I’m actually looking at it right now.

I have had similar experiences that seemed real, might have been, I'm not too sure either. You are a story catcher so it's not surprising that you'd have wonderfully fearful unexplainable things happen.

Parents sometimes don't know how to handle a child's imagination and tend to believe it's just that - because they don't have an answer. I hope I didn't do this to my kids. ugh.....

I'm going through some stuff right now with dreams and nightmares from things that happened years ago and I wake up still in the dream, with the sounds and smells and feelings. It's not real, but it is.

I think I kind of get you. :)

I forgot to mention the dreamy gauzy photos....they are perfect for this story in mood and uncertainty. Nicely done!

Thank you!

Dreams are so important to me. Sleeping ones and waking ones. I completely relate to what you’re experiencing. I believe there’s so much more to dreams than we can understand.

Story catcher. I love that! I’m going to use that. 😊

Wow, nicely written!
I came across this post because @nikv resteemed it and I am glad she did. Upon reading the beginning of this post, I felt this tug on my inner self. Not only is it nice to know someone else out there had similar thoughts/feelings but to have that person put it into beautiful words that made sense, something that I could never do.
Thank you for sharing your story/experience!

Thank you! I’m very glad it touched you. And it’s nice to know I’m not alone either.

I can't describe how much I love that first photo! I don't know what happened to you that day, but it definitely made for a great story.

Thank you! It’s one of my favorite photos, too. And the story is one I’ve told a thousand times but never before attempted to write. I wasn’t quite sure if I could breathe the right mood into it.

It’s amazing how photos and words can play so beautifully off of each other and bring things to new levels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86